According to data from the Framingham Heart Study (Massachusetts, United States), people who have high levels of leptin - protein produced by adipocytes (fat cells) - are less likely to develop Alzheimer's disease and other types of dementia.

For the trial, the scientists measured the leptin concentration of 785 volunteers who did not suffer from dementia during the years 1990 and 1994. Subsequently, between 1999 and 2005, they performed a volumetric magnetic resonance of the brain of 198 individuals with the same conditions. In addition, they measured the overall brain volume and an area called the temporal horn, which indicate the beginning of Alzheimer's and the subsequent risk of dementia. In approximately nine years, 111 participants developed dementia and 89 were diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease.

The scientists observed that the high levels of this protein were related to a smaller number of causes that can produce dementia and Alzheimer's.

If these results are confirmed in additional studies, leptin levels could be considered an indicator of the healthy aging of the brain, and there are also openings to possible treatments and preventive therapies.

What is leptin?

Three-dimensional representation of leptin
  • It is a protein produced by adipocytes (fat cells) that inhibits the appetite at the level of the hypothalamus. Its deficit causes obesity.
  • High levels of insulin in blood, as well as glucocorticoids, have a stimulating effect on leptin secretion.

TOP 7 BRAIN FOODS Help Fight Dementia & Alzheimer's. BEST Ways to Prevent Dementia & Alzheimer’s (November 2019).

Selon les données de la Framingham Heart Study (Massachusetts, États-Unis), les personnes présentant des taux élevés de leptine - protéine produite par les adipocytes (cellules adipeuses) - sont moins susceptibles de développer la maladie d'Alzheimer et d'autres types de démence.

Pour l'essai, les scientifiques ont mesuré la concentration de leptine de 785 volontaires non atteints de démence au cours des années 1990 et 1994. Par la suite, entre 1999 et 2005, ils ont effectué une résonance magnétique volumétrique du cerveau de 198 personnes présentant les mêmes conditions. En outre, ils ont mesuré le volume global du cerveau et une zone appelée corne temporale, qui indiquent le début de la maladie d'Alzheimer et le risque de démence qui en découle. En neuf ans environ, 111 participants ont développé une démence et 89 ont reçu un diagnostic de maladie d'Alzheimer.

Les scientifiques ont observé que les niveaux élevés de cette protéine étaient liés à un plus petit nombre de causes pouvant entraîner la démence et la maladie d'Alzheimer.

Si ces résultats sont confirmés par des études supplémentaires, les niveaux de leptine pourraient être considérés comme un indicateur du vieillissement en bonne santé du cerveau, et des possibilités de traitement et de traitement préventif pourraient également être envisagées.

Quelle est la leptine?

Représentation tridimensionnelle de la leptine
  • C'est une protéine produite par les adipocytes (cellules adipeuses) qui inhibe l'appétit au niveau de l'hypothalamus. Son déficit provoque l'obésité.
  • Des taux élevés d'insuline dans le sang, ainsi que des glucocorticoïdes, stimulent la sécrétion de leptine.

Dossier Alzheimer : Présentation - Conseils Retraite Plus (Août 2019).