They discover that hormones released during pregnancy, such as estrogen, progesterone and gonadotropin, generate a protein capable of inhibiting breast cancer, according to the magazine Cancer Prevention Research.

It is the alpha-fetoprotein (AFP) that could be used as an agent for the treatment and prevention of breast cancer. It is produced in the liver and in the yolk sac of the fetus naturally.

The study director, Herbert Jacobson, points out that some pregnancy hormones can induce AFP, which has the ability to inhibit the growth of breast cancer, which implies that the human body has a natural defense system to prevent this disease.

Hormones of pregnancy

The research, conducted by the Center for Immunology and Microbial Diseases and the Medical College of Albany in New York (United States), has consisted of administering pregnancy hormones to rats that had been exposed to carcinogens. They studied whether these hormones generated AFP, providing a protective effect even when there was no pregnancy.

Pregnancy modifies the function of almost all the body's glands

The study authors observed that both treatment with progesterone plus estrogen, and only estrogen, or human chorionic gonadotropin, decreased the incidence of breast cancer tumors in animals. It was also seen that serum AFP protein levels increased, proving that it inhibited the development of breast cancer cells, which means that the treatment was preventing the onset of this disease.

To conclude, and according to the data obtained, the AFP should be transformed safely into a drug that can be used to protect women from breast cancer. Therefore, we are currently working with a small part of the AFP protein, with the aim of transforming it into a product that serves for the preventive treatment of this type of cancer.

Know What Your Doctors Know: Metastatic Breast Cancer Part 05 - Approach to treatment (November 2019).

Ils découvrent que les hormones libérées pendant la grossesse, telles que l'œstrogène, la progestérone et la gonadotrophine, génèrent une protéine capable d'inhiber le cancer du sein, selon le magazine Recherche sur la prévention du cancer.

C'est l'alpha-foetoprotéine (AFP) qui pourrait être utilisée comme agent de traitement et de prévention du cancer du sein. Il est produit naturellement dans le foie et dans le sac vitellin du fœtus.

Le directeur de l’étude, Herbert Jacobson, souligne que certaines hormones de la grossesse peuvent induire la PFA, qui a la capacité d’inhiber la croissance du cancer du sein, ce qui implique que le corps humain dispose d’un système de défense naturel pour prévenir cette maladie.

Hormones de grossesse

La recherche, menée par le Center for Immunology and Microbial Diseases et le Medical College of Albany à New York (États-Unis), a consisté à administrer des hormones de grossesse à des rates exposées à des agents cancérigènes. Ils ont étudié si ces hormones généraient de la PFA, offrant un effet protecteur même en l'absence de grossesse.

La grossesse modifie la fonction de presque toutes les glandes du corps

Les auteurs de l'étude ont observé que le traitement à la progestérone plus les œstrogènes, et uniquement les œstrogènes, ou la gonadotrophine chorionique humaine, diminuaient l'incidence des tumeurs cancéreuses du sein chez les animaux. Il a également été constaté que les taux sériques de protéine AFP augmentaient, ce qui prouve qu’elle inhibe le développement des cellules cancéreuses du sein, ce qui signifie que le traitement permet de prévenir l’apparition de cette maladie.

En conclusion, et selon les données obtenues, l’AFP devrait être transformée en toute sécurité en un médicament pouvant être utilisé pour protéger les femmes du cancer du sein. Par conséquent, nous travaillons actuellement avec une petite partie de la protéine AFP, dans le but de la transformer en un produit servant au traitement préventif de ce type de cancer.

Can we eat to starve cancer? | William Li (Août 2019).