The same treatments against HIV that have reduced mortality and the development of diseases associated with AIDS can cause adverse effects that, if not treated properly, negatively impact on quality of life, on therapeutic compliance and, consequently, on the control of the infection itself. Knowing these side effects and learning how to handle them are the objectives of ITVIH Program, presented in the XIV National Congress on AIDS to NGOs across the country that specialize in helping HIV positive people.

For María José Fuster, manager of the Spanish Interdisciplinary AIDS Society (SEISIDA) and coordinator of the program, although there is no doubt that the antiretroviral therapy is directly responsible for fewer deaths and associated diseases, it is also that "increasingly deterioration in the quality of life of patients occurs by pathologies derived from the adverse effects of the therapies, and not by the infection itself of HIV ". "It is important," he stresses, "to try to find solutions to maintain the best possible quality of life for those affected. In addition, some of these side effects can lead people with HIV to not take medication correctly, and even not take it. "

"Side effects can lead people with HIV not to take the medication correctly, and even not take it"

The ITVIH program, which has been designed by Bristol-Myers Squibb, provides basic information about the treatment (when to start it, when to change it, the importance of complying with it, the way in which drugs act on the virus, ...), and is aimed at train members of NGOs so that they, in turn, guide patients about tolerance, side effects, and management of complications associated with HIV treatment.

The most novel contribution of this initiative, however, lies in the strategies and tricks offered to manage side effects. "The objective has been to put in the hands of people with HIV and their environment a practical tool that helps them minimize possible complications. The councils are also elaborated from a multiple perspective, ranging from dietary strategies to psychological, through behavior changes. It has not been entered into the purely medical advice, but rather in the complementary measures that can help. For example, if the cholesterol is high, a statin (lipid-lowering medication) is not recommended, but certain low-fat foods, physical exercise, ... ", explains Fuster.

Short and long term side effects

The side effects at the beginning of the treatment differ from those that usually appear when the patient has been using it for a long time or with different treatments. At the beginning, they are more common gastrointestinal disorders (nausea, vomiting, diarrhea), neuropsychiatric disorders (sleep disorders, dizziness) or hypersensitivity reactions like skin rashes. More long-term complications may arise such as metabolic disorders, increased cardiovascular risk or lipodystrophy (redistribution of body fat). Other consequences associated with the treatment contemplated in the program are the liver and kidney toxicity, skin problems, the effect on sex or osteoporosis.

"Not always," says Fuster, "are minor problems; some may contribute to premature aging of the patient and even reduce their life expectancy. Therefore, it is necessary to continue innovating in the treatment with the development of more comfortable and safe drugs, without this supposing less antiviral efficacy, but it is also good to learn how to best manage these adverse effects. The patient's quality of life and adherence to treatment will depend on this ".

Source: Bristol-Myers Squibb

Treating HIV Immediately (November 2019).

Les mêmes traitements contre le VIH qui ont réduit la mortalité et l'apparition de maladies associées au SIDA peuvent avoir des effets néfastes qui, s'ils ne sont pas traités correctement, ont un impact négatif sur la qualité de vie, sur l'observance thérapeutique et, par conséquent, sur la santé. contrôle de l'infection elle-même. Connaître ces effets secondaires et apprendre à les gérer sont les objectifs de Programme ITVIH, présenté dans le XIVe Congrès national sur le sida à travers le pays, des ONG spécialisées dans l'aide aux personnes séropositives.

Pour María José Fuster, responsable de la Société espagnole interdisciplinaire de lutte contre le sida (SEISIDA) et coordinatrice du programme, il ne fait aucun doute que traitement antirétroviral est directement responsable de la diminution du nombre de décès et des maladies associées, c’est aussi que "la détérioration croissante de la qualité de vie des patients est due à des pathologies dérivées des effets indésirables des traitements, et non à l’infection elle-même du VIH ". "Il est important," insiste-t-il, "d'essayer de trouver des solutions pour maintenir la meilleure qualité de vie possible pour les personnes touchées. En outre, certains de ces effets secondaires peuvent amener les personnes séropositives à ne pas prendre leurs médicaments correctement, voire à ne pas en prendre. "

"Les effets secondaires peuvent amener les personnes séropositives à ne pas prendre le médicament correctement, voire à ne pas le prendre"

Le programme ITVIH, conçu par Bristol-Myers Squibb, fournit des informations de base sur le traitement (quand le commencer, quand le modifier, sur l’importance de le respecter, sur la manière dont les médicaments agissent sur le virus, ...), et vise à: former les membres des ONG afin qu’ils puissent à leur tour guider les patients sur la tolérance, effets secondaireset la gestion des complications associées au traitement du VIH.

La contribution la plus novatrice de cette initiative réside toutefois dans les stratégies et astuces proposées pour gérer les effets secondaires. "L'objectif était de mettre entre les mains des personnes vivant avec le VIH et de leur environnement un outil pratique qui les aide à minimiser les complications possibles. Les conseils sont également élaborés dans une perspective multiple, allant de stratégies alimentaires à des stratégies psychologiques, en passant par des changements de comportement. Il n'a pas été inscrit dans l'avis purement médical, mais plutôt dans les mesures complémentaires pouvant aider. Par exemple, si le cholestérol est élevé, une statine (médicament hypolipidémiant) n'est pas recommandée, mais certains aliments faibles en gras, l'exercice physique, ... ", explique Fuster.

Effets secondaires à court et long terme

Les effets indésirables au début du traitement diffèrent de ceux qui apparaissent habituellement lorsque le patient l’utilise depuis longtemps ou avec différents traitements. Au début, ils sont plus communs troubles gastro-intestinaux (nausée, vomissement, diarrhée), troubles neuropsychiatriques (troubles du sommeil, vertiges) ou réactions d'hypersensibilité comme des éruptions cutanées. Des complications à plus long terme peuvent survenir telles que des troubles métaboliques, un risque cardiovasculaire accru ou une lipodystrophie (redistribution de la graisse corporelle). Les autres conséquences associées au traitement envisagé dans le programme sont les suivantes: toxicité hépatique et rénale, problèmes de peau, l’effet sur le sexe ou l’ostéoporose.

"Pas toujours," dit Fuster, "sont des problèmes mineurs; certains peuvent contribuer au vieillissement prématuré du patient et même réduire son espérance de vie. Par conséquent, il est nécessaire de continuer à innover dans le traitement en mettant au point des médicaments plus confortables et plus sûrs, sans pour autant supposer une efficacité antivirale moindre, mais il est également bon d’apprendre à gérer au mieux ces effets indésirables. La qualité de vie du patient et son adhésion au traitement en dépendront ".

Source: Bristol-Myers Squibb

Importante Mensaje Ummita para toda la Humanidad (y Parte 3) (Septembre 2019).