A peptide that controls the appetite at the level of the nervous system, could have a great potential for the development of future drugs to combat obesity. The PYY is secreted by the intestine according to the amount of calories that we are going to ingest, and it has a satiating action.

It has been observed that obese patients have lower fasting peptide concentrations than subjects with an adequate weight, and that these concentrations increase as weight loss occurs. Therefore, weight loss in obese subjects is associated with an increase in fasting PYY concentrations, as well as those who undergo surgery.

To verify this association, a group of healthy people was administered PYY, intravenously, to physiological doses, managing to reduce calorie intake by 30%. In addition, the duration of the meal and the subjective feeling of hunger also decreased, without any alteration in the gastric emptying being observed.

The World Health Organization (WHO) estimates that in 2015 around 2.3 billion adults will be overweight, and more than 700 million will be obese

Overweight and obesity have become a serious health problem, and not only in developed countries, as was previously thought. For various reasons, such as inadequate nutrition, excessive sedentary lifestyle, or poor nutritional education, chilling data have been reached regarding the number of people suffering from this type of disorder, which is increasing the incidence of cardiovascular diseases.

Leptin and the neural circuit regulation food intake and glucose metabolism (November 2019).

Un peptide qui contrôle l’appétit au niveau du système nerveux pourrait avoir un grand potentiel pour le développement de futurs médicaments permettant de lutter contre l’obésité. Le PYY est sécrété par l'intestin en fonction de la quantité de calories que nous allons ingérer et il a un effet rassasiant.

Il a été observé que les patients obèses ont des concentrations de peptides à jeun inférieures à celles des sujets de poids adéquat, et que ces concentrations augmentent au fur et à mesure de la perte de poids. Par conséquent, la perte de poids chez les sujets obèses est associée à une augmentation des concentrations de PYY à jeun, ainsi que chez ceux qui subissent une intervention chirurgicale.

Pour vérifier cette association, un groupe de personnes en bonne santé a été administré par voie intraveineuse à des doses physiologiques PYY, ce qui a permis de réduire l'apport calorique de 30%. De plus, la durée du repas et la sensation subjective de faim ont également diminué, sans aucune altération de la vidange gastrique.

L'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) estime qu'en 2015, environ 2,3 milliards d'adultes seront en surpoids et plus de 700 millions seront obèses.

Le surpoids et l'obésité sont devenus un grave problème de santé, et pas seulement dans les pays développés, comme on le pensait auparavant. Pour diverses raisons, telles qu'une nutrition inadéquate, un mode de vie sédentaire excessif ou une éducation nutritionnelle insuffisante, des données alarmantes ont été obtenues concernant le nombre de personnes souffrant de ce type de trouble, qui augmente l'incidence des maladies cardiovasculaires.

exercice corrige de determination de la sequence des peptides (Août 2019).