Bacterial meningitis is an infection of the central nervous system, caused by various germs, which mainly affects children and causes inflammation of the meninges. The disease begins when the bacteria colonize the upper respiratory tract, from where they enter the blood and, from there, invade the central nervous system and reach the brain.

The Streptococcus pneumoniae (pneumococcus) and the meningococcus B, are the pathogens most frequently involved in epidemics, since vaccines are currently available against other pathogens, such as Haemophilus influenzae and meningococcal C.

The study vaccine protects against meningococcus B, responsible for most of the meningitis infections that occur in Europe

Meningococcus B, responsible for most of the infections that occur in Europe, is a challenge for scientists because, so far, no vaccine is able to cover all the serogroups that exist of this pathogen. Therefore, there are several investigations underway and a group of Chilean researchers has just conducted a study in which they have found that a new vaccine generates an immune response in virtually all people who have been tested.

In the investigation, whose results have been published The Lancet, the authors evaluated the immunological capacity and safety offered by the vaccine 4CmenB, administering different doses of the same, and in different time intervals, to the 1,631 adolescents -with ages between 11 and 17 years-, who participated in the study. The data revealed that the best immune response was produced by administering two doses of this vaccine and respecting an interval between the two of one, two or six months. Following this protocol, they achieved a potential prophylaxis in almost all participants; although it does not protect against all the meningococci of group B, it is effective against most strains. However, other studies are necessary to determine the efficacy and tolerance of the drug in larger sectors of the population and, especially, in younger children, who are most affected by bacterial meningitis.

Meningococcal B Study - The University of Adelaide (November 2019).

La méningite bactérienne est une infection du système nerveux central, causée par divers microbes, qui affecte principalement les enfants et provoque une inflammation des méninges. La maladie débute lorsque les bactéries colonisent les voies respiratoires supérieures, d'où elles pénètrent dans le sang, puis envahissent le système nerveux central et atteignent la cerveau.

Le Streptococcus pneumoniae (pneumocoque) et le méningocoque B, sont les agents pathogènes les plus fréquemment impliqués dans épidémies, car les vaccins sont actuellement disponibles contre d’autres agents pathogènes, tels que Haemophilus influenzae et méningocoque C.

Le vaccin à l'étude protège contre le méningocoque B, responsable de la plupart des infections à méningite qui se produisent en Europe

Méningocoque B, responsable de la plupart des cas les infections qui se produisent dans Europe, est un défi pour les scientifiques car, à ce jour, aucun vaccin n’est capable de couvrir tous les sérogroupes existants de ce pathogène. Par conséquent, plusieurs enquêtes sont en cours et un groupe de chercheurs chiliens vient de mener une étude dans laquelle ils ont découvert qu'un nouveau vaccin génère une réponse immunitaire chez pratiquement toutes les personnes testées.

Dans l'enquête, dont les résultats ont été publiés Le lancet, les auteurs ont évalué la capacité immunologique et la sécurité offerte par le vaccin 4CmenB, en administrant différentes doses de la même dose et à des intervalles de temps différents aux 1 631 adolescents âgés de 11 à 17 ans qui ont participé à l’étude. Les données ont révélé que la meilleure réponse immunitaire avait été obtenue en administrant deux doses de ce vaccin et en respectant un intervalle entre deux, un ou deux ou six mois. À la suite de ce protocole, ils ont réalisé une prophylaxie potentielle chez presque tous les participants; Bien qu'il ne protège pas contre tous les méningocoques du groupe B, il est efficace contre la plupart des souches. Cependant, d'autres études sont nécessaires pour déterminer l'efficacité et la tolérance du médicament dans des secteurs plus larges de la population et, en particulier, chez les enfants plus jeunes, qui sont les plus touchés par la méningite bactérienne.

Enquête vaccination N° 4- Vaccin ROR + les non vaccinés font ils courir un risque aux vaccinés ? (Septembre 2019).