A new cancer vaccine, known as TG4010, combined with standard chemotherapy, has shown its ability to increase the effectiveness of such chemotherapy, in addition to slowing the progression of the most common type of lung cancer, the non-small cell (NSCLC). , which is mainly responsible for cases of death from cancer worldwide.

This type of lung cancer is characterized by the alteration of a protein, MUC1, which proliferates due to the presence of tumor cells. The function of the new vaccine is to stimulate the body's immune system to fight this protein and kill cancer cells.

At six months, the researchers observed that in 43% of the patients who had received the combined treatment (vaccine and chemotherapy), the disease had not progressed

In the study that has shown the effectiveness of the new drug, published in 'The Lancet Oncology', 148 patients have participated who suffered a CPCNP in advanced stages, coming from several European countries (Germany, France, Hungary and Poland). The patients were divided into two groups, and one of them was administered TG4014 together with chemotherapy (cisplatin and gemcitabine), and the other only chemotherapy. Six months later, the researchers observed that in 43% of the patients who had received the combined treatment (vaccine and chemotherapy), the disease had not progressed, which happened only in 35% of those who belonged to the group that only received chemotherapy.

Elisabeth Quoix and her team, from the University of Strasbourg (France), also detected that immunotherapy obtained better results in those patients who at the beginning of the study had a normal number of CD16 + CD56 + CD69 + lymphocytes, cells capable of hinder or reinforce the body's immune response, so that the level of these lymphocytes in the blood of those affected by a NSCLC, could help determine which patients are more likely to benefit from the administration of the vaccine. For this reason, the scientists emphasize that it is vital to perform an analysis of the biological status of patients to be able to predict the effectiveness of immunotherapy.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

TRACO 2013 - Small Cell Lung Cancer (SCLC) & Prostate Cancer (November 2019).

Un nouveau vaccin anticancéreux, appelé TG4010, associé à une chimiothérapie standard, a montré sa capacité à augmenter l'efficacité de cette chimiothérapie, en plus de ralentir la progression du type de cancer du poumon le plus répandu, le cancer à cellules non à petites cellules. , qui est principalement responsable des cas de décès par cancer dans le monde.

Ce type de cancer du poumon est caractérisé par l'altération d'une protéine, MUC1, qui prolifère en raison de la présence de cellules tumorales. Le nouveau vaccin a pour fonction de stimuler le système immunitaire du corps pour combattre cette protéine et tuer les cellules cancéreuses.

À six mois, les chercheurs ont observé que chez 43% des patients ayant reçu le traitement combiné (vaccin et chimiothérapie), la maladie n'avait pas progressé.

Dans l'étude qui a montré l'efficacité du nouveau médicament, publiée dans «The Lancet Oncology», ont été suivis 148 patients atteints de CPCNP à un stade avancé, provenant de plusieurs pays européens (Allemagne, France, Hongrie et Pologne). Les patients ont été divisés en deux groupes et l'un d'entre eux a reçu TG4014 en association avec une chimiothérapie (cisplatine et gemcitabine) et l'autre une chimiothérapie. Six mois plus tard, les chercheurs ont observé que chez 43% des patients qui avaient reçu le traitement combiné (vaccin et chimiothérapie), la maladie n’avait pas progressé, ce qui n’est arrivé que chez 35% des patients appartenant au groupe qui n’avait reçu que chimiothérapie

Elisabeth Quoix et son équipe, de l'Université de Strasbourg (France), ont également détecté que l'immunothérapie obtenait de meilleurs résultats chez les patients qui, au début de l'étude, avaient un nombre normal de lymphocytes CD16 + CD56 + CD69 +, cellules capables de gêner ou renforcer la réponse immunitaire de l'organisme, de sorte que le niveau de ces lymphocytes dans le sang des personnes atteintes d'un CBNPC puisse aider à déterminer les patients les plus susceptibles de bénéficier de l'administration du vaccin. Pour cette raison, les scientifiques soulignent qu'il est essentiel de procéder à une analyse de l'état biologique des patients pour pouvoir prédire l'efficacité de l'immunothérapie.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

David Agus: A new strategy in the war against cancer (Août 2019).