Researchers from the Institute for AIDS Research IrsiCaixa have carried out a study, promoted by the Ministry of Health of Catalonia and La Caixa, in which they have identified a hormone that improves the effectiveness of certain vaccines that were ineffective in patients infected with HIV.

The work, which is included in the program for the development of the Hivacat AIDS vaccine, and collected by the journal of the 'British Immunology Society' - Immunology - demonstrates for the first time that administering a treatment with growth hormone to patients seropositive allows to recover the immune system and to improve the efficacy of certain vaccines, which had proved useless because of the need to stimulate an overly weakened immune system.

A treatment with growth hormone to seropositive patients allows to recover the immune system and improve the effectiveness of certain vaccines

The study was conducted with 278 HIV-infected patients, from whom those with deficient immune responses to at least one of these three vaccines were selected: hepatitis A, hepatitis B or tetanus, and they still had deficient answers after two vaccinations.

The administration of growth hormone allows to improve the function of a lymphoid organ, the scam, in which a type of white blood cells known as T cells, which are responsible for activating different cells of the immune system such as B cells, responsible for producing the necessary antibodies to fight infections.

The study shows that the partial recovery of this organ before the administration of a vaccine to seropositive patients, allows an activation of the immune system, which is essential for the vaccine to effectively carry out the activation of the immune system to defend the patient from possible future infections.

The therapy would act as a complement or adjuvant in the action of certain vaccines, among which include the AIDS vaccine that Hivacat is investigating, and other existing ones such as hepatitis A, B and tetanus, with which has carried out the study.

Unlike adjuvants that are used in other vaccines, it should be administered before the vaccine application and will be applicable not only in HIV positive patients, but also in patients who have the thymus destroyed by other causes such as aging, chemotherapy and radiotherapy.

  

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Using Vaccines to Tackle HIV (November 2019).

Des chercheurs de l'Institut de recherche sur le sida IrsiCaixa ont mené une étude, parrainée par le ministère de la Santé de Catalogne et La Caixa, dans laquelle ils ont identifié une hormone qui améliore l'efficacité de certains vaccins inefficaces chez les patients infectés par le VIH.

Les travaux, inclus dans le programme de développement du vaccin anti-VIH Hivacat et rassemblés par le journal de la "British Immunology Society" - Immunology - démontrent pour la première fois que l'administration d'un traitement à base d'hormone de croissance aux patients séropositif permet de récupérer le système immunitaire et d'améliorer l'efficacité de certains vaccins, qui s'étaient révélés inutiles en raison de la nécessité de stimuler un système immunitaire trop affaibli.

Un traitement à l'hormone de croissance chez des patients séropositifs permet de récupérer le système immunitaire et d'améliorer l'efficacité de certains vaccins

L’étude a été menée auprès de 278 patients infectés par le VIH. Parmi ceux-ci, ceux dont la réponse immunitaire était déficiente à au moins un de ces trois vaccins ont été sélectionnés: hépatite A, hépatite B ou le tétanoset ils avaient toujours des réponses déficientes après deux vaccinations.

L’administration d’hormone de croissance permet d’améliorer la fonction d’un organe lymphoïde, la arnaque, dans lequel un type de globules blancs appelé Les cellules T, qui sont responsables de l’activation de différentes cellules du système immunitaire telles que les cellules B, responsables de la production des anticorps nécessaires au combattre les infections.

L'étude montre que la récupération partielle de cet organe avant l'administration d'un vaccin à des patients séropositifs permet une activation du système immunitaire, essentielle au bon déroulement de l'activation du système immunitaire par le vaccin. infections futures possibles.

La thérapie agirait comme complément ou adjuvant dans l’action de certains vaccins, parmi lesquels le vaccin contre le sida sur lequel Hivacat est en train d’étudier et d’autres déjà existants, tels que les hépatites A, B et le tétanos, avec lesquels a réalisé l'étude.

Contrairement aux adjuvants utilisés dans d'autres vaccins, il doit être administré avant l'application du vaccin et sera applicable non seulement aux patients séropositifs, mais également aux patients dont le thymus est détruit pour d'autres causes telles que le vieillissement, chimiothérapie et radiothérapie.

  

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

VIH / SIDA - Résistance aux anti-rétroviraux - HIV drug resistance in French (Août 2019).