'My Symptoms with Parkinson's Disease' is a new tool designed to help those affected by this pathology to identify the severity of your symptoms and take note of the frequency with which they manifest. It has been presented by the Spanish Parkinson's Federation (FEP), in collaboration with UCB Pharma, coinciding with World Parkinson's Day. With a simple and manageable design, those affected are evaluated one by one all the symptoms related to Parkinson's, so that with each step is generated a graphic that provides a visual representation of the global status of the disease.

In Parkinson's disease, both motor and non-motor symptoms are involved, and the latter are not always given due importance, despite the damage they cause to patients, who see their quality of life greatly diminished because of these symptoms. Between the non-motor symptoms Most important are the sleep disorders (difficulty staying awake, morning fatigue, excessive daytime sleepiness or fatigue); Gastrointestinal disorders (difficulty swallowing, excess saliva or constipation); urinary problems (increased frequency of urine or nighttime incontinence) and humor changes (loss of interest, depression -in 50 percent of cases-, or anxiety).

From the FEP they emphasize that the non-motor symptoms are especially relevant when making a early diagnostic by specialists; In addition, 20% of patients will not develop tremors, which is the most obvious aspect of the disease. "The non-motor symptoms are probably the most crushing, both for the affected and for the caregiver. The difficulty to swallow, to maintain an adequate tone of voice, sleep disorders, fatigue ... prevent, to a large extent, maintain a good quality of life, "says its president, José Luis Molero. He adds that "this tool allows identifying and taking control over the symptoms that most affect the life of the affected, while allowing the specialist to recognize with a simple glance the global status of the disease and optimize the time of the consultation."

In this regard, Dr. Gurutz Linazasoro, director of the Parkinson's Research Center of the Gipuzkoa Polyclinic of San Sebastian, acknowledges that "at present, non-motor symptoms are treated inadequately for two reasons. On the one hand, because they are not recognized in medical consultations, and this is a shared responsibility between the patient and the doctor: the patient, because he does not count it, and the doctor, because he does not seek it. On the other hand, because today there are no therapies as effective as those that relieve motor symptoms. "

That is why he recognizes that "this tool will be of great help to eliminate, or at least reduce, the tendency of the patient not to tell these symptoms to the doctor and the tendency of the specialist not to actively seek these symptoms. Without a doubt, 'My Symptoms with Parkinson's Disease' will make things much easier. "

Source: Spanish Parkinson's Federation

Balance and Parkinson's Disease (November 2019).

«Mes symptômes de la maladie de Parkinson» est un nouvel outil conçu pour aider les personnes touchées par cette pathologie à: identifier la gravité de vos symptômes et noter la fréquence à laquelle ils se manifestent. Il a été présenté par la Fédération espagnole de Parkinson (FEP), en collaboration avec UCB Pharma, à l'occasion de la Journée mondiale de la maladie de Parkinson. Avec une conception simple et gérable, les personnes touchées sont évaluées l’un après l’autre, tous les symptômes liés à la maladie de Parkinson, de sorte qu’à chaque étape un graphique donnant une représentation visuelle de l’état mondial de la maladie soit généré.

Dans la maladie de Parkinson, les symptômes moteurs et non moteurs sont impliqués et on n'accorde pas toujours toute l'importance voulue à ces derniers, malgré les dommages causés aux patients, qui voient leur qualité de vie grandement réduite en raison de ces symptômes. Parmi les symptômes non moteurs Les plus importants sont les problèmes de sommeil (difficulté à rester éveillé, fatigue matinale, somnolence diurne excessive ou fatigue); problèmes gastro-intestinaux (difficulté à avaler, salive excessive ou constipation); problèmes urinaires (fréquence accrue d'urine ou d'incontinence nocturne) et changements d'humeur (perte d'intérêt, dépression - dans 50% des cas - ou anxiété).

FEP insistent sur le fait que les symptômes non moteurs sont particulièrement pertinents lorsqu’on fait une diagnostic précoce par des spécialistes; En outre, 20% des patients ne développeront pas de tremblement, ce qui est l'aspect le plus évident de la maladie. "Les symptômes non moteurs sont probablement les plus accablants, à la fois pour les personnes touchées et pour le soignant. La difficulté à avaler, à maintenir un ton de voix adéquat, aux troubles du sommeil, à la fatigue ... empêche, dans une large mesure, de maintenir une bonne qualité de vie ", a déclaré son président, José Luis Molero. Il ajoute que "cet outil permet d'identifier et de contrôler les symptômes qui affectent le plus la vie des personnes touchées, tout en permettant au spécialiste de reconnaître d'un simple coup d'œil le statut global de la maladie et d'optimiser le temps de la consultation".

À cet égard, le Dr Gurutz Linazasoro, directeur du Centre de recherche sur la maladie de Parkinson de la polyclinique Gipuzkoa de Saint-Sébastien, reconnaît qu '"à l'heure actuelle, les symptômes non moteurs sont mal traités pour deux raisons. D'une part, parce qu'elles ne sont pas reconnues lors des consultations médicales et qu'il s'agit d'une responsabilité partagée entre le patient et le médecin: le patient, parce qu'il ne le compte pas, et le médecin, parce qu'il ne le recherche pas. D'autre part, car il n'existe pas de traitement aussi efficace que ceux qui soulagent les symptômes moteurs. "

C'est pourquoi il reconnaît que "cet outil sera d'une grande aide pour éliminer, ou du moins pour réduire, la tendance du patient à ne pas informer le médecin de ces symptômes et la tendance du spécialiste à ne pas rechercher activement ces symptômes. Sans aucun doute, "Mes symptômes de la maladie de Parkinson" facilitera grandement les choses. "

Source: Fédération espagnole de Parkinson

Problèmes d’équilibre en neuroréadaptation : mise à jour théorique et approche clinique [FR] (Août 2019).