A group of European researchers, led by scientists from the Erasmus University in Rotterdam, has developed a new tool to accurately predict the risk of suffering a cardiovascular disorder, and significantly improves the results offered by the other available models.

An oppressive pain in the chest is sometimes the first warning sign of a Coronary artery disease. This pathology occurs as a result of a narrowing of the arteries responsible for supplying oxygen and nutrients to the heart due to the deposits of fat that accumulate inside, and is considered one of the leading causes of death worldwide.

Early detection of the risk of developing coronary artery disease allows doctors to decide what additional tests should be performed on a patient

When a person suffers from chest pain, it is recommended to use a tool to assess the risk of coronary heart disease, since to detect early and reliably the risk that a person has of developing this disease, allows doctors to decide what additional tests are needed. they should perform a patient, and what steps to take to improve the prognosis. However, the two prediction models - the Diamond and Forrester and the Duke Clinical Score - that are currently used, offer doubts as to their accuracy.

The researchers tested the new prediction model by conducting a study involving a total of 5,677 patients - from 18 hospitals across Europe and the United States - who had chest pain but had no history of heart disease.

The investigation took into account the age, sex, and symptoms of the patients, as well as additional risk factors - arterial hypertension, diabetes, tobacco consumption, high lipid levels ... -, and the calculation of the coronary calcium (used to detect if coronary artery disease exists and the possible risk of it occurring).

The authors of the study indicate that their model is more reliable and accurate compared to the Duke Clinical Score - which is the one that is usually recommended-, since it overestimates the chances of coronary disease; and they add that it offers other additional advantages such as not requiring electrocardiogram readings of the heart at rest, and the possibility of integrating into the electronic records of patients or in mobile applications.

Tracking Cholesterol and Cardiovascular Risk (November 2019).

Un groupe de chercheurs européens, dirigé par des scientifiques de l'Université Erasmus de Rotterdam, a mis au point un nouvel outil permettant de prédire avec précision le risque de souffrir d'un trouble cardiovasculaire et d'améliorer considérablement les résultats des autres modèles disponibles.

Une douleur oppressante à la poitrine est parfois le premier signe avant-coureur d'une maladie coronarienne. Cette pathologie résulte d'un rétrécissement des artères responsables de l'apport en oxygène et en nutriments au cœur en raison des dépôts de graisse qui s'y accumulent et est considérée comme l'une des principales causes de décès dans le monde.

La détection précoce du risque de maladie coronarienne permet aux médecins de décider quels tests supplémentaires doivent être effectués sur un patient

Lorsqu'une personne souffre d'une douleur thoracique, il est recommandé d'utiliser un outil pour évaluer le risque de maladie coronarienne, car détecter rapidement et de manière fiable le risque de développer cette maladie permet aux médecins de décider des examens supplémentaires nécessaires. ils devraient effectuer un patient et quelles mesures prendre pour améliorer le pronostic. Cependant, les deux modèles de prédiction actuellement utilisés, le Diamond Clinical et le Forkeester Duke Clinical Score, soulèvent des doutes quant à leur exactitude.

Les chercheurs ont testé le nouveau modèle de prévision en conduisant une étude portant sur 5 677 patients - provenant de 18 hôpitaux d'Europe et des États-Unis - qui souffraient de douleurs à la poitrine mais n'avaient pas d'antécédents de maladie cardiaque.

L’enquête a tenu compte de l’âge, du sexe et des symptômes des patients, ainsi que de facteurs de risque supplémentaires - hypertension artérielle, diabète, consommation de tabac, taux de lipides élevé, etc. -, et calcul du calcium coronaire (utilisé pour détecter l’existence d’une maladie coronarienne et son risque éventuel).

Les auteurs de l’étude indiquent que leur modèle est plus fiable et précis par rapport au score clinique de Duke - qui est celui recommandé en général-, car il surestime les risques de maladie coronarienne; Ils ajoutent qu'il offre d'autres avantages supplémentaires, tels que l'absence de lectures électrocardiographiques du cœur au repos et la possibilité d'intégration dans les enregistrements électroniques des patients ou dans les applications mobiles.

Les marqueurs d'athérosclérose: utiles pour la prédiction du risque cardiovasculaire ? (Août 2019).