The worst outbreak of kala azar of the last decade is hitting East Africa, and collaboration in the region, through the Leishmaniasis East Africa Platform (LEAP), has allowed to develop a new therapy (SSG & PM), cheaper, and that reduces by almost half the duration of the treatment, which goes from a cycle of injections of 30 days to one of 17.

East African countries where this disease is endemic are adopting appropriate regulatory measures to use the new treatment in their programs, but specialists have warned that if international funds or the support of benefactor governments in their development are not obtained, few patients they will be able to access it.

Experts warn that if international funds or the support of benefactor governments are not obtained, few patients will be able to access the new treatment

Kala azar is another of the names by which the visceral leishmaniasis, an endemic parasitic disease in around 70 countries. South Sudan has the second highest number of cases of this pathology, after India. It is estimated that half a million people are infected, and between 50,000 and 60,000 die every year because of their cause around the world.

For 70 years, there have been only slight improvements in the treatment of kala azar in Africa and, now, LEAP and its collaborators have developed this new combination treatment of sodium stibogluconate and paromomycin.

Monique Wasunna, deputy director of the Kenya Medical Research Institute(KEMRI), and responsible for the Drugs for Neglected Diseases Initiative (DNDi) Africa, has declared that kala azar affects mainly the poorest population of the most recondite peoples, and that it is they who would benefit mainly from this therapy, shorter and more affordable.

This treatment is effective and cures patients. Combination therapies help fight resistance to treatments. The countries of the region are working on their registration and prepared to administer the treatment, but they need financial help to control the disease.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Innovation for Global Development (November 2019).

La pire épidémie de Kala Azar de la dernière décennie frappe l’Afrique de l’Est et la collaboration dans la région, à travers le Plate-forme de la leishmaniose en Afrique de l'Est (LEAP), a permis de développer une nouvelle thérapie (SSG & PM), moins chère, qui réduit de près de la moitié la durée du traitement, qui passe d’un cycle d’injections de 30 jours à 17.

Les pays d'Afrique de l'Est où cette maladie est endémique adoptent des mesures réglementaires appropriées pour utiliser le nouveau traitement dans leurs programmes, mais des spécialistes ont averti que si les fonds internationaux ou le soutien des gouvernements bienfaiteurs dans leur développement n'étaient pas obtenus, peu de patients ils pourront y accéder.

Les experts avertissent que si les fonds internationaux ou le soutien des gouvernements bienfaiteurs ne sont pas obtenus, peu de patients pourront accéder au nouveau traitement

Kala azar est un autre des noms sous lesquels le leishmaniose viscérale, une maladie parasitaire endémique dans environ 70 pays. Le Soudan du Sud a le deuxième plus grand nombre de cas de cette pathologie, après l'Inde. On estime qu'un demi million de personnes sont infectées et qu'entre 50 000 et 60 000 personnes meurent chaque année à cause de leur cause dans le monde.

Depuis 70 ans, le traitement du kala azar en Afrique n’a que de légères améliorations. À présent, LEAP et ses collaborateurs ont mis au point ce nouveau traitement associant le stibogluconate de sodium et la paromomycine.

Monique Wasunna, directrice adjointe du Institut de recherche médicale du Kenya(KEMRI) et responsable de la Initiative sur les médicaments pour les maladies négligées (DNDi) Africa, a déclaré que le kala azar affecte principalement la population la plus pauvre des peuples les plus reconduits, et que ce sont eux qui bénéficieraient principalement de cette thérapie, plus courte et plus abordable.

Ce traitement est efficace et guérit les patients. Les thérapies combinées aident à combattre la résistance aux traitements. Les pays de la région travaillent à leur enregistrement et sont prêts à administrer le traitement, mais ils ont besoin d'une aide financière pour lutter contre la maladie.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Advantix Petit, Moyen, Grand Chien - Pipette Anti Puce et Tique - Vetostore (Août 2019).