A team from the University Hospital of Navarra (CUN) has made a Liver transplant using as a graft the posterior area of ​​the organ of the donor, a new surgical technique that allows to increase between 15 and 20 percent the number of possible liver transplants between alive.

As reported by the CUN in a statement, it is a pioneering surgery in the West, since the conventional intervention that is usually performed in Western hospitals uses the right or left hepatic donor lobe.

"With this procedure, a range of new possibilities for liver transplantation is opened, which, until now, due to the anatomical characteristics of the donor's liver, were not feasible. For this reason we were forced to reject the possibility of performing approximately 15% of liver transplants between the living, "says Dr. Fernando Pardo, director of the Hepatobiliopancreatic Surgery Service of the University Clinic of Navarra.

"Due to the anatomical characteristics of the donor's liver, we were forced to reject the possibility of performing approximately 15% of liver transplants between the living"

The standard surgical technique usually contemplates the extraction of the right hepatic lobe of the donor. "Due to the characteristics of Western patients, it is usually necessary to extract 60% of the donor's liver to obtain a suitable graft for the recipient," says Dr. Fernando Rotellar, specialist of the Hepatobiliopancreatic Surgery Service of the Clinic. Said hepatic proportion - 60% of the organ to be transplanted to the recipient and up to a minimum of 30% to keep in the donor - is the necessary so that there are no problems of liver failure in the postoperative period, both surgeons emphasize.

Sometimes, the anatomical characteristics of the donor's liver impede to maintain the adequate proportion between the volume of the graft necessary to donate to the recipient and the one that must remain in the donor. In these cases, if one of the two lobes is removed - left or right - the donor could have insufficient liver volume for adequate liver function. If this circumstance occurs, the transplant of that donor must be dismissed.

Characteristics of the case

On April 5, the team of surgeons of the Clinic approached a liver transplant inter vivos, in which the aforementioned particularities concurred. "In this particular case, the donor's left lobe contained less than 30 percent of his liver, so it was not feasible to carry out the usual donation, since he would have had less liver volume than necessary," they write.

Following the standard protocol, the graft transplant from the wife-donor to her husband-recipient would have been dismissed. However, the specialists of the Clinic observed the characteristics of the posterior segments of the donor's liver and confirmed the possibility of practicing the intervention successfully. "In this particular transplant, the donor presented a posterior hepatic right sector - segments 6 and 7 with sufficient volume for the recipient's weight. A graft was obtained with both segments, which for the donor involved only 40% of their liver, "says Dr. Pardo.

The evolution of the donor and recipient was excellent, so that they were discharged at 7 and 13 days, respectively, they have added from the CUN.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Liver Transplant | Cincinnati Children's (November 2019).

Une équipe de l’hôpital universitaire de Navarre (CUN) a réalisé une greffe de foie en utilisant comme greffe la région postérieure de l'organe du donneur, une nouvelle technique chirurgicale permettant d'augmenter de 15 à 20% le nombre de transplantations hépatiques possibles entre vivants.

Comme le signale la CUN dans un communiqué, il s’agit d’une opération chirurgicale pionnière en Occident, car l’intervention classique généralement pratiquée dans les hôpitaux occidentaux utilise le lobe donneur hépatique droit ou gauche.

"Avec cette procédure, une gamme de nouvelles possibilités de transplantation hépatique est ouverte, qui, jusqu'à présent, en raison des caractéristiques anatomiques du foie du donneur, n'étaient pas réalisables. Pour cette raison, nous avons été contraints de refuser la possibilité de réaliser environ 15% des transplantations de foie entre vivants », explique le Dr Fernando Pardo, directeur du service de chirurgie hépatobilo-pancréatique de la clinique universitaire de Navarre.

"En raison des caractéristiques anatomiques du foie du donneur, nous avons été obligés de refuser la possibilité d'effectuer environ 15% des greffes du foie entre les vivants"

La technique chirurgicale standard envisage généralement l'extraction du lobe hépatique droit du donneur. "En raison des caractéristiques des patients occidentaux, il est généralement nécessaire d'extraire 60% du foie du donneur pour obtenir une greffe convenable pour le receveur", explique le Dr Fernando Rotellar, spécialiste du service de chirurgie hépatobilico-pancréatique de la clinique. Cette proportion hépatique - 60% de l’organe à transplanter chez le receveur et jusqu’à un minimum de 30% à conserver chez le donneur - est nécessaire pour éviter tout problème de insuffisance hépatique dans la période postopératoire, soulignent les deux chirurgiens.

Parfois, les caractéristiques anatomiques du foie du donneur empêchent de maintenir la proportion adéquate entre le volume de greffe nécessaire pour faire un don au receveur et celui qui doit rester chez le donneur. Dans ces cas, si l'un des deux lobes est retiré - à gauche ou à droite - le donneur pourrait ne pas avoir le volume de foie adéquat pour une fonction hépatique adéquate. Si cela se produit, la greffe de ce donneur doit être rejetée.

Caractéristiques de l'affaire

Le 5 avril, l'équipe de chirurgiens de la clinique a abordé une transplantation de foie entre vives, à laquelle ont souscrit les particularités susmentionnées. "Dans ce cas particulier, le lobe gauche du donneur contenait moins de 30% de son foie, il n'était donc pas possible d'effectuer le don habituel, car il aurait eu moins de volume de foie que nécessaire", écrivent-ils.

Selon le protocole standard, la greffe du donneur à son mari-receveur aurait été rejetée. Cependant, les spécialistes de la clinique ont observé les caractéristiques des segments postérieurs du foie du donneur et ont confirmé la possibilité de pratiquer l'intervention avec succès. "Dans cette greffe particulière, le donneur a présenté un secteur droit postérieur du foie, les segments 6 et 7, avec un volume suffisant pour le poids du receveur. Une greffe a été obtenue avec les deux segments, ce qui, pour le donneur, ne concerne que 40% du foie ", explique le Dr Pardo.

L'évolution du donneur et du receveur a été excellente, de sorte qu'ils ont été libérés à 7 et 13 jours, respectivement, ont-ils ajouté du CUN.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Faire pousser et fortifier ses cheveux avec l'huile de ricin ! (Septembre 2019).