A new laser is already available in Spain, the Wavelight FS200, which is faster, more accurate and safer to perform surgical interventions on the cornea, from transplants to refractive surgery, a treatment that is frequently used to correct visual disturbances as prevalent as myopia, presbyopia or astigmatism.

The type of laser used so far to carry out these treatments needed much more energy than the FS200 and also exerted more pressure on the cornea than the new device, which also does not damage the surrounding tissues, so the procedure, as Jorge Luis García Pérez explains, ophthalmologist of the Clinic Rementería de Madrid, is safer for the patient and allows the specialist to work more accurately.

With the new device, the cornea transplant (keratoplasty) lasts about half an hour, does not require hospital admission, and the patient regains sight in a week.

With this laser, the intervention of corneal transplantation (keratoplasty), which consists in totally or partially removing the damaged tissue -by infections, injuries, illness ...- and replacing it with another healthy one from a donor, lasts about half an hour, not it requires hospital admission, and the patient regains sight in a week. In addition, according to experts, the new technique also reduces the risk of rejection.

A study published in the prestigious journal American Journal of Ophtalmology reveals that patients undergoing keratoplasty with the new laser recover earlier and improve their visibility with daylight and their sensitivity to contrast.

Source: Rementery Clinic

Advances in Corneal Transplantation (November 2019).

Un nouveau laser est déjà disponible en Espagne, le Wavelight FS200, qui est plus rapide, plus précis et plus sûr pour effectuer des interventions chirurgicales sur la cornée, des greffes aux chirurgie réfractive, traitement fréquemment utilisé pour corriger les troubles visuels aussi répandus que la myopie, la presbytie ou l’astigmatisme.

Le type de laser utilisé jusqu'à présent pour effectuer ces traitements nécessitait beaucoup plus d'énergie que le FS200 et exerçait également plus de pression sur la cornée que le nouveau dispositif, qui n'endommageait pas non plus les tissus environnants. comme l'explique Jorge Luis García Pérez, ophtalmologiste de la clinique Rementería de Madrid, est plus sûre pour le patient et permet au spécialiste de travailler avec plus de précision.

Avec le nouveau dispositif, la greffe de cornée (kératoplastie) dure environ une demi-heure, ne nécessite pas d'hospitalisation et le patient recouvre la vue en une semaine.

Avec ce laser, l’intervention de la greffe de cornée (kératoplastie), qui consiste à enlever totalement ou partiellement le tissu endommagé - par les infections, les blessures, la maladie ... - et à le remplacer par un autre en bonne santé provenant d’un donneur, dure environ une demi-heure, et non il faut être hospitalisé et le patient recouvre la vue en une semaine. En outre, selon les experts, la nouvelle technique réduit également le risque de rejet.

Une étude publiée dans la prestigieuse revue American Journal of Ophtalmology révèle que les patients subissant une kératoplastie avec le nouveau laser récupèrent plus tôt et améliorent leur visibilité à la lumière du jour et leur sensibilité au contraste.

Source: Clinique de Rementery

Clip de présentation IFME (Août 2019).