It has just presented Benlysta® (Belimumab), an innovative drug for the treatment of systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE), which works directly attacking the human B lymphocyte stimulating protein (BLyS), one of the factors involved in the development of this chronic autoimmune disease, which affects mostly women (90% of cases), and usually manifests between 15 and 44 years of age. In the long run, this pathology causes limitations to the patient (around half of the patients stop working 15 years after the diagnosis), and it can generate numerous complications and even cause death.

Belimumab works directly attacking the human B Lymphocyte Stimulating (BLyS) protein, one of the factors involved in the development of this chronic autoimmune disease.

It is estimated that half a million people in Europe suffer from some type of lupus, a disease that currently has no cure, so that specialists aim to reduce the intensity of symptoms and prevent or reduce complications arising from both the illness as of its treatment. However, in some patients the treatment fails to control the condition, or suffer undesired effects as a result of the medication. Dr. Juan Jesús Gómez-Reino, head of the Rheumatology Unit of the University Clinical Hospital of Santiago de Compostela explains that between 15 and 20 percent of patients do not obtain benefits with standard medication and need to take other drugs indicated for various pathologies of autoimmune type.

Benlysta, which was approved by the European Medicines Agency in July of this year, it is the first drug that appears in more than 50 years destined to reduce the activity of SLE, especially in those patients who do not respond to other therapies. It can be administered as a support to standard treatment, and in clinical studies that have been carried out in more than 30 countries, with the collaboration of almost 1,700 patients, significant improvements in the response of patients who received this drug with the usual treatment, compared to the placebo group, with a tolerance to similar therapies in both cases.

Source: Human Genome Sciences

My Lupus Story *I almost died 3x* (November 2019).

Il vient de présenter Benlysta® (Belimumab), un médicament innovant pour le traitement du lupus érythémateux systémique (SLE), qui agit directement contre la protéine stimulant les lymphocytes B humains (BLyS), l'un des facteurs impliqués dans le développement de cette protéine. maladie auto-immune chronique, qui touche principalement les femmes (90% des cas) et se manifeste généralement entre 15 et 44 ans. À long terme, cette pathologie entraîne des limitations pour le patient (environ la moitié des patients arrêtent de travailler 15 ans après le diagnostic) et peut générer de nombreuses complications, voire entraîner la mort.

Le belimumab agit directement sur la protéine BLyS (stimulateur des lymphocytes B humains), l'un des facteurs impliqués dans le développement de cette maladie auto-immune chronique.

On estime qu'un demi-million de personnes en Europe souffrent d'un certain type de lupus, une maladie incurable à ce jour. Les spécialistes cherchent donc à réduire l'intensité des symptômes et à prévenir ou à réduire les complications résultant à la fois maladie dès son traitement. Cependant, chez certains patients, le traitement ne permet pas de contrôler la maladie ou ne provoque pas d'effets indésirables du à la suite du traitement. Le Dr Juan Jesús Gómez-Reino, chef de l'unité de rhumatologie de l'hôpital clinique universitaire de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle, explique qu'entre 15 et 20% des patients ne tirent aucun bénéfice des médicaments standard et doivent prendre d'autres médicaments indiqués pour le traitement. diverses pathologies de type auto-immun.

Benlysta, qui a été approuvé par le Agence européenne des médicaments en juillet de cette année, c’est le premier médicament apparu en plus de 50 ans destiné à réduire l’activité du LES, en particulier chez les patients qui ne répondent pas aux autres traitements. Il peut être administré en complément d'un traitement standard et, dans le cadre d'études cliniques menées dans plus de 30 pays, avec la collaboration de près de 1 700 patients, une amélioration significative de la réponse des patients traités par ce médicament traitement habituel, comparé au groupe placebo, avec une tolérance à des thérapies similaires dans les deux cas.

Source: Sciences du génome humain

NA Des scientifiques andalous participent au décryptage du code génétique le plus complet du lupus (Août 2019).