Scientists of the Higher Council for Scientific Research (CSIC) have discovered how hemagglutinin (one of the measles proteins) can mutate and change the receptor to which it binds, to be able to enter the cell and thus produce the disease.

In the study, whose results published "Nature Structural Molecular Biology", these researchers have analyzed the way of acting of currently available vaccines, with the aim of designing new antiviral treatments.

Hemagglutinin is responsible for the union of the virus with several receptors located on the surface of the cell, an activity prior to the onset of infection. The CSIC scientists, together with researchers from the Ramón y Cajal Hospital (Madrid) and the University of Tuebinge (Germany), photographed the structure of this union, which allowed them to study the way in which the measles virus identifies the receptors of the cells of the human organism and how the mutation takes place that allows this virus to change the receptor to which it is going to unite and also to know the type of cells that it infects.

This research will be fundamental to design new vaccines that prevent children from contracting measles, and also to try to create new techniques that prevent the virus from penetrating inside the cells.

Engineering 21st Century Vaccines in a Connected World | Anton Middelberg | TEDxFulbrightAdelaide (November 2019).

Les scientifiques du Conseil supérieur de la recherche scientifique (CSIC) ont découvert comment l’hémagglutinine (l’une des protéines de la rougeole) peut muter et modifier le récepteur auquel elle se lie pour pouvoir pénétrer dans la cellule et ainsi produire la maladie.

Dans l'étude, dont les résultats ont publié "Nature Structural Molecular Biology", ces chercheurs ont analysé le mode d'action des vaccins actuellement disponibles dans le but de concevoir de nouveaux traitements antiviraux.

L'hémagglutinine est responsable de l'union du virus avec plusieurs récepteurs situés à la surface de la cellule, une activité antérieure à l'apparition de l'infection. Les scientifiques du CSIC, ainsi que des chercheurs de l'hôpital Ramón y Cajal (Madrid) et de l'Université de Tuebinge (Allemagne), ont photographié la structure de cette union, ce qui leur a permis d'étudier la manière dont le virus de la rougeole identifie les récepteurs. des cellules de l'organisme humain et comment se produit la mutation qui permet à ce virus de modifier le récepteur auquel il va s'unir et de connaître le type de cellules qu'il infecte.

Cette recherche sera fondamentale pour concevoir de nouveaux vaccins empêchant les enfants de contracter la rougeole et pour créer de nouvelles techniques empêchant le virus de pénétrer à l'intérieur des cellules.

Enquête vaccination 8-L'immunité naturelle des enfants, politique de santé ou de maladie ? (Août 2019).