The metformin, an antidiabetic drug widely used throughout the world to treat type II diabetes, is also effective in combating certain types of cancer. That is the conclusion reached by two Spanish studies led by the coordinator of the Translational Research Unit of the Catalan Institute of Oncology (ICO) of Gerona, Dr. Javier Menéndez.

Previous studies had revealed that the incidence of breast cancer and deaths from this condition were lower in diabetic patients who had been treated with metformin.

Therefore, from the ICO launched a study to study this association and demonstrate that metformin has the ability to inhibit certain cellular activity typical of one of the most aggressive types of breast cancer, known as HER2 positive, a cancer of poor prognosis, with a tendency to recur and that, in the long term, does not respond to the available treatments.

This finding reinforces the thesis that cancer originates as a result of metabolic alterations of cells

This finding reinforces the thesis that cancer originates as a result of metabolic alterations of cells, similar to those that cause pathologies such as diabetes or obesity, so it could contribute to developing alternatives for the treatment of cancer from the point of view of cancer. metabolic view.

The effect that metformin causes in the evolution of breast cancer has served to study its effectiveness in other oncological processes, such as lung cancer and ovarian cancer, opening a new range of possibilities in the fight against cancer.

The studies, directed by Dr. Javier Menéndez, and published in C journalsell Cycle Y Annals of Oncology have found that metformin, in addition to inhibiting HER2 + tumor cells, causes a survival effect at the level of cardiac cells.

Breast Cancer Prevention: Lifestyle and breast cancer risk | City of Hope (November 2019).

Le la metformine, un antidiabétique largement utilisé dans le monde pour traiter le diabète de type II, est également efficace dans la lutte contre certains types de cancer. Telle est la conclusion à laquelle sont parvenus deux études d'espagnol dirigées par le Dr Javier Menéndez, coordinateur de l'unité de recherche translationnelle de l'Institut catalan d'oncologie (ICO) de Gérone.

Des études antérieures avaient révélé que l'incidence du cancer du sein et les décès dus à cette maladie étaient plus faibles chez les patientes diabétiques traitées à la metformine.

Par conséquent, l’OIC a lancé une étude pour étudier cette association et démontrer que la metformine a la capacité d’inhiber certaines activités cellulaires typiques de l’un des types les plus agressifs de cancer du sein, appelé HER2 positif, un cancer de mauvais pronostic, avec une tendance à se reproduire et qui, à long terme, ne répond pas aux traitements disponibles.

Cette découverte renforce la thèse selon laquelle le cancer serait à l'origine d'altérations métaboliques des cellules

Cette découverte renforce la thèse selon laquelle le cancer serait à l'origine d'altérations métaboliques cellulaires, similaires à celles qui causent des pathologies telles que le diabète ou l'obésité, de sorte qu'elle pourrait contribuer à développer des alternatives pour le traitement du cancer. vue métabolique.

L’effet de la metformine sur l’évolution du cancer du sein a permis d’étudier son efficacité dans d’autres processus oncologiques, tels que le cancer du poumon et le cancer de l’ovaire, ouvrant une nouvelle gamme de possibilités dans la lutte contre le cancer.

Les études, dirigées par le Dr Javier Menéndez, et publiées dans des revues Cell cycle et Annales d'oncologie ont découvert que la metformine, en plus d’inhiber les cellules tumorales HER2 +, provoque un effet de survie au niveau des cellules cardiaques.

Une femme a guéri son cancer de stade 4 avec un régime miraculeux DONNEZ-LE À UNE PERSONNE (Août 2019).