A new test, which consists in making a blood test to the pregnant woman to examine the DNA of the developing fetus that contains the blood of the mother, is capable of detecting Down's syndrome and other chromosomal anomalies -such as trisomy 18-, so it would no longer be necessary to use invasive tests, such as amniocentesis, to diagnose this disorder.

In addition to ultrasound and blood tests to determine the presence of certain substances in the mother's blood that may indicate a problem, there are two other tests that are used to screen for malformations during pregnancy when the risk is considered high. , corial biopsy and amniocentesis, which are invasive and present a certain risk of miscarriage, which is greater in the case of biopsy.

This new prenatal diagnostic test - which can be performed after week 10 of pregnancy - would prevent these invasive tests, and will be available in Spain, in around 50 private hospitals, from January, at a price of around 700 euros. . The analysis would be indicated in those cases in which the first screening - the ultrasound, the analyzes and the age of the mother - implied a significant risk that the fetus would present alterations.

It must be borne in mind that the first screening with non-invasive tests only detects 85% of the cases in which malformations exist, with 5% false positives. These false positives, moreover, would be easily ruled out with the new blood test, without the need to resort to amniocentesis.

The previous tests that have been carried out with the new test give it a reliability of 99% and a false positive rate of only 0.1% in the cases of the most frequent trisomies, 21, which causes Down syndrome, and 18, responsible for the Edwards syndrome. It is also able to identify trisomy 13-Patau- syndrome, although the effectiveness is somewhat lower for this disorder, and it is reduced to approximately 89%.

At the moment, the specialists do not advise the test when the pregnancy has been achieved through a donation of oocytes, or in multiple pregnancies, because its effectiveness has not yet been confirmed in these cases.

Amnio vs. Genetic Blood Testing (November 2019).

Un nouveau test, qui consiste à faire un analyse de sang à la femme enceinte d'examiner la ADN du fœtus en développement contenant le sang de la mère, capable de détecter le syndrome de Down et d'autres anomalies chromosomiques - telles que la trisomie 18 -, il ne serait donc plus nécessaire de recourir à des tests invasifs, tels que l'amniocentèse, pour diagnostiquer ce désordre.

En plus des échographies et des analyses de sang pour déterminer la présence de certaines substances dans le sang de la mère qui peuvent indiquer un problème, deux autres tests sont utilisés pour dépister les malformations au cours de la grossesse lorsque le risque est considéré comme élevé. , biopsie coriale et amniocentèse, qui sont invasives et présentent un certain risque de fausse couche, ce qui est plus important dans le cas de la biopsie.

Ce nouveau test de diagnostic prénatal, qui peut être effectué après la 10e semaine de grossesse, permettrait d'éviter ces tests invasifs. Il sera disponible en Espagne dans une cinquantaine d'hôpitaux privés, à partir de janvier, au prix de 700 euros environ. . L'analyse serait indiquée dans les cas où le premier dépistage - l'échographie, les analyses et l'âge de la mère - impliquerait un risque important que le fœtus présente des altérations.

Il faut garder à l'esprit que le premier dépistage avec des tests non invasifs ne détecte que 85% des cas de malformations, dont 5% de faux positifs. De plus, ces faux positifs seraient facilement éliminés avec le nouveau test sanguin, sans la nécessité de recourir à l'amniocentèse.

Les tests précédents effectués avec le nouveau test lui confèrent une fiabilité de 99% et un taux de faux positifs de seulement 0,1% dans les cas de trisomies les plus fréquentes, 21, qui provoque le syndrome de Down, et 18, responsable du syndrome d'Edwards. Il est également capable d'identifier le syndrome de trisomie 13-Patau-, bien que l'efficacité soit légèrement inférieure pour ce trouble et qu'elle soit réduite à environ 89%.

À l'heure actuelle, les spécialistes ne conseillent pas le test lorsque la grossesse a été réalisée par un don d'ovocytes ou lors de grossesses multiples, car son efficacité n'a pas encore été confirmée dans ces cas.

Le dépistage de la trisomie 21 (Septembre 2019).