Approximately nine out of ten Spaniards over 45 have a vision problem. However, it is noteworthy that only 66% of the population between 45 and 54 years old use some optical compensation system. At this age, almost all people suffer from presbyopia or eyestrain, with which there is a 34% of people of this age group who can have complications in carrying out simple and habitual tasks, such as reading a book, threading a needle, cooking or even driving, with the risks that this can entail your health and quality of life.

Juan Carlos Martínez Moral, President of the General Council of Opticians and Optometrists Associations (CGCOO) and Dean of National College of Opticians-Optometrists, warns that "7% of Spaniards suffering from presbyopia have never had their vision checked in health care facilities, which indicates that these people over 40 can have serious visual problems without knowing or accepting it."

Preventive reviews

In the population group over 55 years of age, the use of visual correction amounts to 92% of the total population. And is that, in addition to presbyopia, from this age people are more likely to suffer a series of vision problems associated with the passage of time, such as cataracts, glaucoma or macular degeneration (AMD). A timely review helps prevent them: a regular eye exam is all that is needed to detect cataracts, while with a visit to the optician-optometrist we will know how the eye strain is and if we are at risk of glaucoma; also, with the periodic control of the fundus of the eye performed by the optometrist, the appearance of some forms of macular degeneration can be prevented.

Detecting these pathologies in time is essential, but according to Juan Carlos Martínez Moral, President of the General Council of Opticians and Optometrists Schools and Dean of the National College of Opticians-Optometrists, "the population is little aware of the need for periodic reviews of the vision". Thus, 74% of the population waits to notice a visual problem to decide to visit the specialist. And once the problem is detected, 66% take up to 3 months to go to the optometrist.

"The main reasons for delaying the visit to the specialist are laziness, aesthetics or because it is considered a minor symptom, without suspecting that their visual health is at stake," says Martínez Moral.

10+ Easy Exercises to Relieve Tired Eyes (November 2019).

Environ neuf Espagnols de plus de 45 ans sur dix ont un problème de vision. Cependant, il convient de noter que seulement 66% de la population âgée de 45 à 54 ans utilise un système de compensation optique. À cet âge, presque toutes les personnes souffrent de presbytie ou de fatigue oculaire, avec laquelle 34% des personnes de ce groupe d'âge peuvent avoir des complications lors de tâches simples et habituelles, telles que lire un livre, enfiler une aiguille, cuisiner ou même conduire, avec les risques que cela peut entraîner votre santé et votre qualité de vie.

Juan Carlos Martínez Moral, président de la Conseil général des associations d'opticiens et d'optométristes (CGCOO) et doyen de Collège national des opticiens-optométristes, avertit que "7% des Espagnols souffrant de presbytie n’ont jamais eu leur vue vérifiée dans les établissements de santé, ce qui indique que ces personnes de plus de 40 ans peuvent avoir de graves problèmes de vision sans le savoir ni l’accepter".

Examens préventifs

Dans le groupe de population de plus de 55 ans, l’utilisation de la correction visuelle représente 92% de la population totale. Et c’est que, outre la presbytie, à partir de cet âge, les personnes sont plus susceptibles de souffrir d’une série de problèmes de vision associés au passage du temps, tels que la cataracte, le glaucome ou la dégénérescence maculaire (DMLA). Un examen opportun aide à les prévenir: un examen de la vue régulier suffit à détecter les cataractes, tandis qu’une visite chez l’opticien-optométriste nous permettra de connaître l’état de la fatigue oculaire et de déterminer si nous sommes exposés au glaucome; de plus, grâce au contrôle périodique du fond de l'œil effectué par l'optométriste, il est possible d'empêcher l'apparition de certaines formes de dégénérescence maculaire.

Détecter ces pathologies dans le temps est essentiel, mais pour Juan Carlos Martínez Moral, président du conseil général des écoles d’opticiens et d’optométristes et doyen du Collège national des opticiens-optométristes, "la population n’est guère consciente de la nécessité la vision". Ainsi, 74% de la population attend de constater un problème visuel pour décider de rendre visite au spécialiste. Et une fois le problème détecté, 66% mettent jusqu'à 3 mois pour aller chez l’optométriste.

"Les principales raisons pour retarder la visite chez le spécialiste sont la paresse, l'esthétique ou le considérer comme un symptôme mineur, sans se douter que leur santé visuelle est en jeu", déclare Martínez Moral.

Mali : Nés en France et rapatriés par leurs parents (Septembre 2019).