Hot flushes, insomnia and joint pain are some of the characteristic symptoms that women suffer during menopause. Javier Ferrer, president of the Spanish Association for the Study of Menopause (AEEM), explains that according to a study conducted with 10,514 women in primary care, 58% suffer from hot flashes, almost half suffer from sleep disturbances (insomnia), and close of 50% joint pain (arthralgias). In addition, 38% have depressive mood and 46.3% show irritability in their character.

Experts from the AEEM, on the occasion of the celebration of the International Menopause Day (October 18), encourage, under the motto "Recycle your menopause", that women go to the specialist. Dr. Ferrer notes that, according to the data available, it is necessary to apply a change in habits, since almost half of women do not exercise during menopause, and around 40% suffer from obesity and hypertension.

The president of the Council of Affiliated Menopause Societies (CAMS), Santiago Palacios, points out that there is currently a 10.55% of women with menopause in the world. This specialist explains that treatments should be individualized, in addition to transmitting new messages about this biological process, because women do not have to suffer from existing alternatives. "We must inform, remove and overcome fears towards the treatments".

Hormone Replacement Therapy (HRT)

The symptoms of menopause can vary from one woman to another from mild, to moderate or severe. The most frequent are: hot flushes, joint pains, vaginal dryness and painful sexual intercourse, loss of urine, changes in mood, sleep disturbances, and so on.

The symptoms of menopause can vary from one woman to another from mild, to moderate or severe

In Spain, hormone replacement therapy is followed by a very small percentage of women, which barely reaches 4%. A woman is a candidate to receive HRT when the symptoms she suffers are more serious, such as loss of libido, acute insomnia, psychological problems, or hormonal deficiencies.

First of all, it must be established what stage the woman is in and what symptoms she suffers from. A specialist doctor will be in charge of assessing the risks and benefits of HRT for each patient and, in case it is not appropriate, establish another treatment that helps to alleviate the symptoms.

Your Life, Your Health: Menopause (November 2019).

Les bouffées de chaleur, l'insomnie et les douleurs articulaires font partie des symptômes caractéristiques des femmes pendant la ménopause. Javier Ferrer, président de l'Association espagnole pour l'étude de la ménopause (AEEM), explique que selon une étude menée auprès de 10 514 femmes en soins de première ligne, 58% souffrent de bouffées de chaleur, près de la moitié souffrent de troubles du sommeil (insomnie) et 50% de douleurs articulaires (arthralgies). En outre, 38% ont une humeur dépressive et 46,3% sont irritables.

Les experts de l'AEEM, à l'occasion de la célébration de la Journée internationale de la ménopause (18 octobre), encouragent, sous le slogan "Recyclez votre ménopause", que les femmes aillent chez le spécialiste. Le Dr Ferrer note que, selon les données disponibles, il est nécessaire d'appliquer un changement d'habitudes, car près de la moitié des femmes ne font pas d'exercice pendant la ménopause et environ 40% souffrent d'obésité et d'hypertension.

Le président du Conseil des sociétés affiliées à la ménopause (CAMS), Santiago Palacios, souligne qu’il ya actuellement 10,55% de femmes ménopausées dans le monde. Ce spécialiste explique que les traitements doivent être individualisés, en plus de transmettre de nouveaux messages sur ce processus biologique, car les femmes ne doivent pas souffrir des alternatives existantes. "Nous devons informer, éliminer et vaincre les peurs liées aux traitements".

Traitement hormonal substitutif (THS)

Les symptômes de la ménopause peuvent varier d’une femme à l’autre: légers, modérés ou graves. Les plus fréquentes sont les suivantes: bouffées de chaleur, douleurs articulaires, sécheresse vaginale et rapports sexuels douloureux, perte d’urine, changements d’humeur, troubles du sommeil, etc.

Les symptômes de la ménopause peuvent varier d’une femme à l’autre: légers, modérés ou graves.

En Espagne, le traitement hormonal substitutif est suivi par un très faible pourcentage de femmes, qui atteint à peine 4%. Une femme est susceptible de recevoir un THS lorsque les symptômes dont elle souffre sont plus graves, tels que perte de libido, insomnie aiguë, problèmes psychologiques ou carences hormonales.

Tout d'abord, il faut établir à quel stade se trouve la femme et à quels symptômes elle souffre. Un médecin spécialiste sera chargé d'évaluer les risques et les avantages du THS pour chaque patient et, au cas où ce ne serait pas approprié, de mettre en place un autre traitement permettant d'atténuer les symptômes.

10 choses que vous ne connaissiez sûrement pas sur votre vagin (Septembre 2019).