Four out of ten Spaniards (44%) do not know what a sudden cardiac arrest is, and only 26.8% would know how to act in a situation of this type, although more than half of the population (59%) knows what are the semiautomatic defibrillators, according to the results of a survey of the Spanish Council of Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CERCP).

This study, which collects data from more than 1,000 surveys, shows that, despite the fact that in Spain every year more than 24,000 cardiorespiratory stops, "the level of knowledge of the population about these diseases can be improved," according to Dr. Juan López Messa, president of CERCP, who adds that "there are those who do not know what a cardiac arrest is, but a defibrillator."

In any case, the percentage of the population that knows how to perform a basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation (33%) and knows the importance of survival chains in these cases (15%) is equally low, so it is necessary to publicize both the frequency of these ailments, as the means that exist to treat them. Especially considering that only one in 20 people survives a sudden cardiac arrest when it occurs outside the hospital, and that every minute of delay in performing a basic resuscitation reduces the chances of survival by 10%.

In this sense, and given that up to one in four cardiac arrests occur in public places, the CERCP and the Gaspar Casal Foundation have presented a consensus document in which they ask the Ministry of Health to coordinate the implementation of this type of device. to be "uniform and common sense" in all communities.

Defibrillators by law

Both entities propose that there be a national law that determines the places where their presence is mandatory, since the experience of other countries such as Japan, the United States, Sweden or Denmark has shown that the implantation of defibrillators "entails a relevant improvement" of the survival in these events.

"Deaths due to cardiac arrest in sports have had a very great impact and have favored the implantation of defibrillators in stadiums, but footballers should not be the only ones who are protected," said Dr. López Messa.

In addition to stadiums and sports facilities, they propose that there be defibrillators in airports, train, bus and metro stations, and in shopping centers. Although many of these places already have these devices, the data handled by manufacturers show that there are only between 3,000 and 5,000 defibrillators installed in public places, while in Japan there are more than 90,000.

"You have to change the concept of a defibrillator and stop considering it a medical device," Dr. López Messa insists, especially because "it is not more complex to use than that of an extinguisher." However, laments this expert, the ignorance of its operation or the "fear of doing more damage" to the person affected by cardiac arrest limits its use. Therefore, to improve the knowledge of the Spanish population about what is a cardiac arrest and how to act against it, experts believe that it would be very positive to facilitate and integrate knowledge about the chain of survival and cardiopulmonary resuscitation in compulsory education.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Is A Brain Dead Person Actually Dead? (November 2019).

Quatre Espagnols sur dix (44%) ne savent pas ce qu'est un arrêt cardiaque subit et seuls 26,8% sauraient comment agir dans une situation de ce type, bien que plus de la moitié de la population (59%) sait quels sont les défibrillateurs semi-automatiques, selon les résultats d'une enquête du Conseil espagnol de réanimation cardio-respiratoire (CERCP).

Cette étude, qui recueille des données de plus de 1 000 enquêtes, montre que, même si chaque année en Espagne plus de 24 000 arrêts cardiorespiratoires, "Le niveau de connaissance de la population sur ces maladies peut être amélioré", a déclaré le président du CERCP, Juan López Messa, qui a ajouté qu '"il existe des personnes qui ne savent pas ce qu'est un arrêt cardiaque, mais un défibrillateur".

Dans tous les cas, le pourcentage de la population sachant effectuer une réanimation cardio-respiratoire de base (33%) et connaissant l’importance des chaînes de survie dans ces cas (15%) est également faible; il est donc nécessaire de faire connaître à la fois la fréquence de ces maux, comme les moyens existants pour les traiter. Surtout en considérant que seulement une personne sur 20 survit à un arrêt cardiaque soudain à l’extérieur de l’hôpital, et que chaque minute de retard dans la réanimation de base réduit les chances de survie de 10%.

Dans ce sens, et étant donné qu’un arrêt cardiaque sur quatre se produit dans des lieux publics, le CERCP et la Fondation Gaspar Casal ont présenté un document de consensus dans lequel ils demandent au ministère de la Santé de coordonner la mise en œuvre de ce type de dispositif. être "uniforme et de bon sens" dans toutes les communautés.

Défibrillateurs selon la loi

Les deux entités proposent de mettre en place une loi nationale déterminant les lieux où leur présence est obligatoire, l'expérience d'autres pays tels que le Japon, les États-Unis, la Suède ou le Danemark ayant montré que l'implantation de défibrillateurs "entraîne une amélioration significative" de le la survie dans ces événements.

"Les décès dus à des arrêts cardiaques dans le sport ont eu un impact très important et ont favorisé l'implantation de défibrillateurs dans les stades, mais les footballeurs ne devraient pas être les seuls protégés", a déclaré le Dr López Messa.

En plus des stades et des installations sportives, ils proposent l'installation de défibrillateurs dans les aéroports, les gares de train, de bus et de métro, ainsi que dans les centres commerciaux. Bien que bon nombre de ces lieux disposent déjà de ces dispositifs, les données traitées par les fabricants montrent qu’il n’ya que 3 000 à 5 000 défibrillateurs installés dans des lieux publics, contre 90 000 au Japon.

"Vous devez changer le concept de défibrillateur et cesser de le considérer comme un dispositif médical", insiste le Dr López Messa, notamment parce que "son utilisation n'est pas plus complexe que celle d'un extincteur". Cependant, déplore cet expert, l'ignorance de son fonctionnement ou la "crainte de causer davantage de dommages" à la personne touchée par un arrêt cardiaque en limite l'utilisation. Par conséquent, les experts estiment qu'il serait très positif de faciliter et d'intégrer les connaissances sur la chaîne de survie et la réanimation cardiopulmonaire dans l'enseignement obligatoire afin d'améliorer la connaissance de la population espagnole sur ce qu'est un arrêt cardiaque et sur la manière de réagir.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Speeches: Gustavo Díaz Ordaz - VPRO documentary - 2016 (Août 2019).