Almost 20% of children and adolescents can be affected by psychiatric disorders, and up to 60% of these patients could suffer relapses when they reach adulthood, according to sources from the Alicia Koplowitz Foundation, the organization's responsible, together to the Jiménez-Díaz Foundation, of the VI Scientific Conference on psychiatric disorders in childhood and adolescence.

The coordinator of scientific programs of the Alicia Koplowitz Foundation, Elena Guisasola, explained that it has been shown that between 23 and 61 percent of children and adolescents diagnosed with a psychiatric disorder will later suffer some pathology of the disease. same nature and that, for this reason, an early diagnosis, with the consequent treatment, is essential to mitigate the seriousness that the condition may acquire in the future.

Enrique Baca García, head of the Psychiatry service of the Jiménez Díaz Foundation, also insists on the importance of detecting the disorder as soon as possible, in order to initiate the treatment and thus reduce the risk of relapse when the patient reaches adulthood and, in If it occurs, know what to expect and not have to waste time trying to find out the problem.

Among the most frequent psychiatric problems during childhood and adolescence are depressive disorders. It is estimated that depression has a prevalence of between 1 and 2 percent in children and between 4 and 8 percent in the case of adolescents.

Experts point out that certain genetic factors they favor its appearance. Baca states that, in the case of depression, having a family history is a risk factor, and that young people feel pressured by social demands and family expectations, which are now greater than years ago, and that can cause frustration. the minors.

Young people feel pressured by social demands and family expectations, which are now greater than years ago, and that can cause frustration for children

Warning signs in case of child depression

Although depression is usually related to sadness and crying, the president of the Spanish Society of Child Psychiatry of the Spanish Association of Pediatrics, Josep Cornella, warns that the depressive child sometimes shows totally opposite symptoms, such as, for example, a kind of hyperactivity, which can be considered as a forward flight.

Among the warning signs, both experts highlight the sudden change that occurs in the life of the child with depression. Baca explains that changes in his behavior can be observed, both in school and in the family, and that result in a state of irritability and lower academic performance. And he adds that the affective disorder suffered by the child can also be reflected in a loss of appetite or weight, sleep disturbances, disinterest and depression.

In view of these symptoms, Cornella thinks that it is necessary to consult the pediatrician, who will refer him, if necessary, to a child and adolescent psychiatry service to start the treatment as soon as possible.

The combination of psychotherapy and psychopharmacology often give excellent results in the treatment of minors and, as Cornella points out, it has been proven that psychotropic drugs, which were previously associated with an increase in suicidal tendencies in young people, do not have this effect secondary, and specialists are able to recommend the most appropriate medications and the doses that should be administered in each case.

Experts have detected that in recent years there has been an increase in the incidence of mental disorders in children and adolescents, although, in the opinion of Baca, this could be due not so much to a higher prevalence, but to the fact that patients have access to it. easier to the health system because it has improved the knowledge of pediatricians, psychiatrists and other people around the child about these types of disorders, as well as to a greater awareness on the part of society about the problem of school failure, which pushes to look for its causes in order to solve it.

What is EATING DISORDER? What does EATING DISORDER mean? EATING DISORDER explanation (November 2019).

Près de 20% des enfants et des adolescents peuvent être atteints de troubles psychiatriques et jusqu'à 60% de ces patients pourraient souffrir de rechutes à l'âge adulte, selon des sources de la Fondation Alicia Koplowitz, responsable de l'organisation, à la Fondation Jiménez-Díaz, du VI Conférence scientifique sur les troubles psychiatriques chez les enfants et les adolescents.

La coordinatrice des programmes scientifiques de la Fondation Alicia Koplowitz, Elena Guisasola, a expliqué qu'il avait été démontré qu'entre 23 et 61% des enfants et des adolescents diagnostiqués avec un trouble psychiatrique souffriraient ultérieurement d'une certaine pathologie de la maladie. même nature et que, pour cette raison, un diagnostic précoce, avec le traitement correspondant, est essentiel pour atténuer la gravité potentielle de l’affection.

Enrique Baca García, responsable du service de psychiatrie de la Fondation Jiménez Díaz, insiste également sur l'importance de dépister le désordre le plus rapidement possible, afin d'initier le traitement et de réduire ainsi le risque de rechute lorsque le patient atteint l'âge adulte. Si cela se produit, sachez à quoi vous attendre et ne perdez pas de temps à chercher le problème.

Parmi les problèmes psychiatriques les plus fréquents au cours de l'enfance et de l'adolescence figurent les troubles dépressifs. On estime que la dépression a une prévalence comprise entre 1 et 2% chez les enfants et entre 4 et 8% chez les adolescents.

Les experts soulignent que certains facteurs génétiques ils favorisent son apparence. Baca déclare que, dans le cas de la dépression, avoir des antécédents familiaux est un facteur de risque et que les jeunes se sentent contraints par les demandes sociales et les attentes de la famille, qui sont maintenant plus grandes qu’il ya des années et qui peuvent être frustrantes. les mineurs.

Les jeunes se sentent contraints par les demandes sociales et les attentes de la famille, qui sont maintenant plus grandes qu'il y a quelques années, et qui peuvent créer de la frustration chez les enfants

Signes avant-coureurs en cas de dépression chez l'enfant

Bien que la dépression soit généralement liée à la tristesse et aux pleurs, Josep Cornella, président de la Société espagnole de pédopsychiatrie de l'Association espagnole de pédiatrie, prévient que l'enfant dépressif présente parfois des symptômes totalement opposés, tels que d’hyperactivité, qui peut être considéré comme un vol aller.

Parmi les signes précurseurs, les deux experts soulignent le changement soudain qui se produit dans la vie de l’enfant déprimé. Baca explique que des changements dans son comportement peuvent être observés, à la fois à l'école et dans la famille, ce qui entraîne un état d'irritabilité et un rendement scolaire inférieur. Et il ajoute que le trouble affectif subi par l'enfant peut également se traduire par une perte d'appétit ou de poids, des troubles du sommeil, un désintérêt et une dépression.

Au vu de ces symptômes, Cornella pense qu'il est nécessaire de consulter le pédiatre, qui le renverra si nécessaire vers un service de psychiatrie pour enfants et adolescents afin de débuter le traitement dans les meilleurs délais.

La combinaison de psychothérapie et psychopharmacologie donne souvent d’excellents résultats dans le traitement des mineurs et, comme le souligne Cornella, il a été prouvé que les médicaments psychotropes, qui étaient auparavant associés à une augmentation des tendances suicidaires chez les jeunes, n’ont pas cet effet. secondaire, et les spécialistes sont en mesure de recommander les médicaments les plus appropriés et les doses à administrer dans chaque cas.

Les experts ont constaté au cours des dernières années une augmentation de l'incidence des troubles mentaux chez les enfants et les adolescents, bien que, de l'avis de Baca, cela pourrait être dû non pas à une prévalence plus élevée, mais au fait que les patients y ont accès. plus facile pour le système de santé car il a permis aux pédiatres, aux psychiatres et à d’autres personnes autour de l’enfant de mieux connaître ces types de troubles, ainsi qu’à une plus grande prise de conscience de la société sur le problème de l’échec scolaire, qui pousse rechercher ses causes pour le résoudre.

Dans les yeux d'Olivier - Je suis mon pire ennemi (Août 2019).