Many Spaniards are already about to prepare their suitcase to take a trip to enjoy their vacations. Therefore, from the Spanish Society of Infectious Diseases and Clinical Microbiology (SEIMC) have warned that tourists should exercise extreme caution, especially if its final destination is a tropical country, since about half of the people who travel to these countries they suffer some health disorder, almost always a infection.

Approximately 10 percent of Spaniards who travel abroad return with a health problem, but the percentage increases significantly - up to 50% of travelers - if the country visited is in the tropics, an area that every year It is frequented by around a million Spaniards, who come mainly during the summer.

Experts advise that people who are going on a trip to tropical countries go to specialized centers, where they will explain the basic prevention measures

Tourists usually get an infection and, as the experts remind us, in many cases this could have been avoided by taking a few simple precautionary measures (see 'traveler's health' and 'advice to travelers to prevent hepatitis'). Dr. José Antonio Pérez Molina, member of the Board of Directors of SEIMC and infectious disease specialist of the tropical medicine unit of the Infectious Diseases Service of the Ramón y Cajal Hospital in Madrid, advises people who are going to travel to tropical countries go to specialized centers, where they will explain the basic prevention measures, and add that if they return to their trip - or during the following month - they have health problems, they should consult it immediately with their doctor.

Tropical diseases

Among the tropical diseases that most often affect tourists, travelers' diarrhea, which is usually a symptom of an infection in the digestive system, and which is usually transmitted through contaminated food or water, or by contact with other people when hygiene is not correct.

Malaria - also known as malaria - is a serious parasitic disease that is transmitted by the bite of Anopheles mosquitoes, and if it is not detected and treated in time, it can cause death. Young children, immunosuppressed people, and pregnant women are at greater risk of complications if they become ill. The most common symptoms of malaria are headache, fever, chills, extreme fatigue, generalized muscle pain, and vomiting or abdominal discomfort.

Also dengue, yellow fever and chikungunya are diseases that are transmitted by mosquito bites. That's why specialists recommend using mosquito-repellent products, covering with clothing in light colors, and not using soaps or scented creams.

Preventive measures

Some basic precautions to avoid this type of tropical diseases are:

  • Before traveling, consult the specialized centers to inquire about the health situation of the country to be visited, and get vaccinated or take the medication recommended by specialists in tropical diseases.
  • Hire a medical insurance that covers the possible incidents that occur during the trip.
  • Extreme hygiene, and take special care with food and drinks (drink only bottled water, do not eat raw or undercooked foods, wash and peel the fruit ...).
  • Use all possible means to avoid the bites of mosquitoes or other insects (mosquito nets, repellents, clothing that covers the largest possible body area ...).
  • Do not bathe in waters whose hygiene is not guaranteed, and avoid in general the rivers and lakes, and areas of standing water.

Source: Spanish Society of Infectious Diseases and Clinical Microbiology (SEIMC)

Why Some Countries Are Poor and Others Rich (November 2019).

Beaucoup d'Espagnols sont déjà sur le point de préparer leur valise pour faire un voyage pour profiter de leurs vacances. Par conséquent, de la Société espagnole de maladies infectieuses et de microbiologie clinique (SEIMC) ont averti que les touristes doivent faire preuve d’une extrême prudence, en particulier si leur destination finale est un pays tropical, puisque près de la moitié des personnes qui se rendent dans ces pays ils souffrent d'un trouble de la santé, presque toujours un infection.

Environ 10% des Espagnols qui voyagent à l'étranger reviennent avec un problème de santé, mais le pourcentage augmente considérablement - jusqu'à 50% des voyageurs - si le pays visité se trouve sous les tropiques, une région qui chaque année Il est fréquenté par environ un million d'Espagnols, qui viennent principalement pendant l'été.

Les experts conseillent aux personnes qui partent en voyage dans les pays tropicaux de se rendre dans des centres spécialisés où elles expliqueront les mesures de prévention de base.

Les touristes contractent généralement une infection et, comme le rappellent les experts, bien souvent, cela aurait pu être évité en prenant quelques mesures de précaution simples (voir «Santé du voyageur» et «Conseils aux voyageurs de prévenir l’hépatite»). Le Dr José Antonio Pérez Molina, membre du conseil d'administration de SEIMC et spécialiste des maladies infectieuses de l'unité de médecine tropicale du Service des maladies infectieuses de l'hôpital Ramón y Cajal de Madrid, conseille les personnes qui vont se rendre dans les pays tropicaux. rendez-vous dans des centres spécialisés, où ils expliqueront les mesures de prévention de base, et ajoutez que s'ils reprennent leur voyage - ou le mois suivant - ils ont des problèmes de santé, ils devraient le consulter immédiatement avec leur médecin.

Maladies tropicales

Parmi les maladies tropicales qui affectent le plus souvent les touristes, on peut citer la diarrhée du voyageur, symptôme d’une infection de l’appareil digestif et généralement transmise par l’alimentation, l’eau ou des aliments contaminés. contact avec d'autres personnes lorsque l'hygiène n'est pas correcte.

Le paludisme - également appelé paludisme - est une maladie parasitaire grave transmise par la piqûre d'un moustique anophèle. S'il n'est pas détecté et traité à temps, il peut provoquer la mort. Les jeunes enfants, les personnes immunodéprimées et les femmes enceintes courent un plus grand risque de complications en cas de maladie. Les symptômes les plus courants du paludisme sont les maux de tête, la fièvre, les frissons, une fatigue extrême, une douleur musculaire généralisée et des vomissements ou une gêne abdominale.

La dengue, la fièvre jaune et le chikungunya sont des maladies transmises par les piqûres de moustiques. C'est pourquoi les spécialistes recommandent d'utiliser des produits anti-moustiques recouvrant les vêtements de couleurs claires et de ne pas utiliser de savon ni de crème parfumée.

Mesures préventives

Quelques précautions de base pour éviter ce type de maladies tropicales sont les suivantes:

  • Avant de voyager, consultez les centres spécialisés pour vous renseigner sur la situation sanitaire du pays dans lequel vous allez vous rendre, et faites-vous vacciner ou prenez les médicaments recommandés par les spécialistes des maladies tropicales.
  • Louez une assurance médicale couvrant les éventuels incidents survenant pendant le voyage.
  • Une hygiène extrême, et prenez des précautions particulières avec les aliments et les boissons (ne buvez que de l’eau en bouteille, ne mangez pas d’aliments crus ou pas assez cuits, lavez et épluchez les fruits ...).
  • Utilisez tous les moyens possibles pour éviter les piqûres de moustiques ou d’autres insectes (moustiquaires, insectifuges, vêtements couvrant la plus grande surface possible ...).
  • Ne vous baignez pas dans des eaux dont l'hygiène n'est pas garantie et évitez en général les rivières et les lacs, ainsi que les zones d'eaux stagnantes.

Source: Société Espagnole de Maladies Infectieuses et de Microbiologie Clinique (SEIMC)

Gustave Flaubert - Madame Bovary - Livre audio 1 SOUS-TITRES - Victoria (Août 2019).