At the beginning of the school year increases the visual effort that children have to perform every day: reading and writing, using the computer, studying ... It is estimated that between 5 and 10% of preschoolers and 25% of school children have visual problems such as myopia, hyperopia, astigmatism or strabismus, among others; In addition, myopia is a visual disorder that is increasing among students.

This, as the President of the General Council of Colleges of Opticians-Optometrists, Juan Carlos Martínez Moral, is mainly due to the fact that now children spend more and more time engaged in activities in which it is necessary to make a great effort of close vision, such as studying with the computer, playing with the console, watching television, or read. However, only one out of every four Spanish children of school age revises the vision at least once a year.

Between 5 and 10% of preschoolers and 25% of school children have visual problems such as myopia, hyperopia, astigmatism or strabismus

In many cases, the origin of what we know of school failure, and which is characterized by bad grades or lack of interest in the subjects, is in some visual defect that prevents them from following the rhythm of the classes, attending to the explanations of the blackboard , read quickly and comprehensively, and study comfortably, which implies a delay in learning.

Martinez Moral notes that almost 30% of cases of school failure is associated with visual problems of children, a fact unknown to most parents.

Early diagnostic

Since children, and especially younger children, do not usually complain about vision problems, it can be difficult to detect them. Dr. Fernando Llovet, Medical Director of the Baviera Clinic, warns that the smaller a child is, the more difficult it is to detect that he has a visual problem and that, for this reason, it is essential to monitor his eyes from the first months of life, everything when he starts watching TV or plays games or works at close range. Llovet explains that young children get used to seeing badly and that is why they do not realize that they have a visual problem, and it is adults who must remain attentive.

Martinez Moral remember the need to make visual revisions to the smallest and also evaluate their comprehensibility, and advises to take them to the optometrist's office at least once a year.

In addition to this annual review, parents and teachers should be aware of the signs that usually indicate the existence of visual problems in children, and that are detailed below:

  • He frowns, winks, or turns his head and neck to look from far or near.
  • His eyes get irritated when he writes or reads, he stings and rubs his eyelids frequently.
  • He frequently suffers from a headache.
  • As a result of a deficit in depth perception, it is easy to stumble.
  • Twist an eye
  • Make many mistakes when copying words from the board.
  • He has low reading comprehension for his age.
  • It has a sensitivity to excessive light (photophobia).
  • Try not to do activities that require good close-up vision, such as doing homework or reading, or far-sightedness, such as playing sports or games.
  • Tends to sit very close to the television or is very close to the books.

If your child has any of these symptoms, you should ask an optician-optometrist to perform a complete visual and ocular examination, since the early detection of visual dysfunctions is vital to establish a correct treatment.

What is the ocular revision?

For the sense of sight to develop properly, both eyes must work properly during childhood, so during the first years of childhood, the revisions will help rule out pathologies and some refractive errors that could later be irremediable. The eye does not mature completely until the age of five, therefore, it is a key stage to identify and correct possible anomalies. According to the experts of the Baviera Clinic, half of the eye deficiencies suffered by adults could have been prevented during childhood, hence the importance of early diagnosis of any visual disorder.

The optician-optometrist checks the different functions of the vision that intervene in learning:

  • View at short and long distance.
  • Visual acuity: it is evaluated at different distances, so that patients are able to read, distinguish the letters on the board correctly and use the computer without problems.
  • Accommodation: the eyes must be able to focus on an object and change the focus from one point to another, in such a way that the attention goes from the book to the waxing, and vice versa.
  • Visual alignment and ocular motility: so that a person can have an appropriate perception of depth it is necessary that the eye muscles converge and focus on the same object.
  • Binocular vision: it is necessary that both eyes are coordinated so that the brain manages to merge, in a single image, the images that each of them sends to him.
  • Eye movement: The child should follow the lines of a page properly and efficiently when reading, or copy information quickly and easily from a blackboard or a sheet.

Sources: General Council of Schools of Opticians-Optometrists and Baviera Clinic

Kid's Eye Exam in Alabama | Clinic for Vision (November 2019).

Au début de l’année scolaire, l’effort visuel quotidien des enfants doit être accru: lecture et écriture, utilisation de l’ordinateur, étude ... On estime entre 5 et 10% des enfants d’âge préscolaire et 25% des enfants scolarisés. des problèmes visuels tels que la myopie, l'hypermétropie, l'astigmatisme ou le strabisme, entre autres; De plus, la myopie est un trouble visuel en augmentation chez les étudiants.

Ceci, en tant que président de la Conseil général des collèges d’opticiens-optométristes, Juan Carlos Martínez Moral, est principalement due au fait que les enfants consacrent de plus en plus de temps à des activités dans lesquelles il est nécessaire de faire un grand effort de vision rapprochée, comme étudier avec l’ordinateur, jouer avec la console, regarder la télévision, ou lire. Cependant, seulement un enfant espagnol sur quatre d'âge scolaire révise sa vision au moins une fois par an.

Entre 5 et 10% des enfants d'âge préscolaire et 25% des enfants d'âge scolaire ont des problèmes de vision tels que la myopie, l'hypermétropie, l'astigmatisme ou le strabisme

Dans de nombreux cas, l’origine de ce que nous savons de l’échec scolaire et qui se caractérise par de mauvaises notes ou un manque d’intérêt pour les matières est un défaut visuel qui les empêche de suivre le rythme des cours et qui s’occupe des explications du tableau. , lisez rapidement et de manière exhaustive, et étudiez confortablement, ce qui implique un retard dans l’apprentissage.

Martinez Moral note que près de 30% des cas d'échec scolaire sont associés à des problèmes de vision des enfants, un fait inconnu de la plupart des parents.

Diagnostic précoce

Étant donné que les enfants, et en particulier les plus jeunes, ne se plaignent généralement pas de problèmes de vision, il peut être difficile de les détecter. Le Dr Fernando Llovet, directeur médical de la clinique Baviera, a averti que plus un enfant est petit, plus il est difficile de détecter un problème de vue et c'est pourquoi il est essentiel de surveiller ses yeux dès les premiers mois de sa vie. tout ce qu’il commence à regarder la télévision, à jouer à des jeux ou à travailler de près. Llovet explique que les jeunes enfants s'habituent à mal voir et que c'est pourquoi ils ne réalisent pas qu'ils ont un problème visuel et que ce sont les adultes qui doivent rester attentifs.

Martinez Moral rappelez-vous la nécessité de faire des révisions visuelles au plus petit et d'évaluer également leur compréhensibilité, et conseille de les apporter au bureau de l'optométriste au moins une fois par an.

Outre cet examen annuel, les parents et les enseignants doivent être conscients des signes qui indiquent généralement l’existence de problèmes visuels chez les enfants et qui sont détaillés ci-dessous:

  • Il fronce les sourcils, cligne de l'oeil ou tourne la tête et le cou pour regarder de loin ou de près.
  • Ses yeux s'irritent lorsqu'il écrit ou lit, il pique et se frotte les paupières fréquemment.
  • Il a souvent mal à la tête.
  • En raison d'un déficit de perception de la profondeur, il est facile de trébucher.
  • Twist un oeil
  • Faites beaucoup d'erreurs en copiant des mots du tableau.
  • Il a une compréhension de lecture faible pour son âge.
  • Il a une sensibilité à la lumière excessive (photophobie).
  • Essayez de ne pas faire d’activités qui nécessitent une bonne vision de près, telles que faire des devoirs ou lire, ou de la vision à long terme, telles que la pratique de sports ou de jeux.
  • A tendance à s'asseoir très près de la télévision ou est très proche des livres.

Si votre enfant présente l'un de ces symptômes, vous devez demander à un opticien-optométriste de réaliser un examen visuel et oculaire complet, car la détection précoce des dysfonctionnements visuels est essentielle pour établir un traitement correct.

Quelle est la révision oculaire?

Pour que le sens de la vue se développe correctement, les deux yeux doivent fonctionner correctement pendant l'enfance. Par conséquent, pendant les premières années de l'enfance, les révisions permettront d'éliminer les pathologies et certaines erreurs de réfraction qui pourraient ultérieurement se produire. irrémédiable. L'œil ne mûrit pas complètement avant l'âge de cinq ans, c'est donc une étape clé pour identifier et corriger les anomalies possibles. Selon les experts de la clinique Baviera, la moitié des déficiences oculaires subies par les adultes auraient pu être évitées pendant l'enfance, d'où l'importance d'un diagnostic précoce de tout trouble visuel.

L’opticien-optométriste vérifie les différentes fonctions de la vision qui interviennent dans l’apprentissage:

  • Vision à courte et longue distance.
  • Acuité visuelle: il est évalué à différentes distances, de sorte que les patients puissent lire, distinguer correctement les lettres du tableau et utiliser l'ordinateur sans problèmes.
  • Hébergement: les yeux doivent être capables de se concentrer sur un objet et de changer le point de vue d'un point à un autre, de manière à ce que l'attention passe du livre à l'épilation, et inversement.
  • Alignement visuel et motilité oculaire: Pour qu'une personne puisse avoir une perception appropriée de la profondeur, il est nécessaire que les muscles des yeux convergent et se concentrent sur le même objet.
  • Vision binoculaire: il faut que les deux yeux soient coordonnés pour que le cerveau parvienne à fusionner, en une seule image, les images que chacun d'eux lui envoie.
  • Mouvement des yeux: L'enfant doit suivre correctement et efficacement les lignes d'une page lors de la lecture ou copier rapidement et facilement des informations à partir d'un tableau ou d'une feuille.

Sources: Conseil général des écoles d’opticiens-optométristes et clinique Baviera

450-431-1228 Optométriste St-Jérôme La vision de votre enfant (Août 2019).