43 percent of the people who enter the service emergencies of a hospital show acute pain as the main symptom, according to the data obtained by an epidemiological study recently conducted by the Spanish Society of Pain (SED) in collaboration with the Spanish Society of Emergency Medicine and Emergencies (SEMES), who have presented during the celebration of World Pain Day.

In Spain there are more than ten million people suffering chronic pain, which represents 22% of the population. In spite of this high incidence, the SED study has verified that in the emergency units of the hospitals, neither adequate assessment nor treatment of pain is carried out, since in four out of ten investigated centers they did not use an appropriate scale to measure patients' pain, and only 9% of hospitals had specialized training programs to manage acute pain aimed at emergency professionals.

Pain is a pathology in itself, which causes great suffering, and which generates an increase in costs, both direct and indirect.

The Spanish Society of Pain has long claimed the need to train health professionals to address pain, and point out that this requires establishing specific training programs, which are not currently available. Since the SED warn that pain is a pathology in itself, causing great suffering, and that generates an increase in costs, both direct (patient care: staff, hospitalization costs, materials ...), and indirect (loss of working days, pensions ...).

The SED has also highlighted that in 42% of the hospitals included in the study, quantifying pain was not a common practice in the emergency services, which, in the opinion of Dr. Rosalía de la Torre, a member of the Acute Pain Work of the SED, is very important, as is the evaluation of the analgesic treatment administered to the patient, and the pain it presents at discharge.

In view of the results of the SED study, and in the framework of the celebration of the World Day Against Pain, it has been proposed to establish measures that contribute to improve the diagnosis and treatment of pain in the emergency services of hospitals, such as continuing education for health professionals who integrate these services, the systematic quantification of pain, and the integration of initiatives of the Pain Units in the hospital emergency services.

Source: Spanish Society of Pain (SED)

101 Facts About Spain (November 2019).

43% des personnes qui entrent dans le service les urgences Dans les hôpitaux, la douleur aiguë est le principal symptôme, selon les données d'une étude épidémiologique menée récemment par le Société espagnole de la douleur (SED) en collaboration avec le Société espagnole de médecine d'urgence et d'urgences (SEMES), qui ont présenté lors de la célébration de Journée mondiale de la douleur.

En Espagne, plus de dix millions de personnes souffrent de douleur chronique, ce qui représente 22% de la population. Malgré cette incidence élevée, l’étude SED a confirmé que dans les services d’urgence des hôpitaux, aucune évaluation ou traitement de la douleur n’était adéquat, dans la mesure où ils n’utilisaient pas une échelle appropriée dans quatre centres sur dix. pour mesurer la douleur des patients, et seulement 9% des hôpitaux disposaient de programmes de formation spécialisés pour la gestion de la douleur aiguë destinés aux professionnels des urgences.

La douleur est une pathologie en soi, qui cause de grandes souffrances et génère une augmentation des coûts, directs et indirects.

La Société espagnole de la douleur réclame depuis longtemps la nécessité de former des professionnels de la santé à la lutte contre la douleur et souligne que cela nécessite la mise en place de programmes de formation spécifiques, qui ne sont actuellement pas disponibles. Depuis le SED, la douleur est une pathologie en soi, qui cause de grandes souffrances et génère une augmentation des coûts, à la fois directs (soins aux patients: personnel, coûts d’hospitalisation, matériel, etc.) et indirects. (perte de jours de travail, de retraites ...).

Le SED a également souligné que dans 42% des hôpitaux inclus dans l'étude, la quantification de la douleur n'était pas une pratique courante dans les services d'urgence, ce qui, de l'avis de la Dre Rosalía de la Torre, membre du Le travail douloureux aigu du SED est très important, tout comme l’évaluation du traitement analgésique administré au patient et la douleur qu’il présente au moment du congé.

Compte tenu des résultats de l’étude SED et dans le cadre de la célébration du Journée mondiale contre la douleur, il a été proposé de définir des mesures contribuant à améliorer le diagnostic et le traitement de la douleur dans les services d'urgence des hôpitaux, telles que la formation continue des professionnels de la santé intégrant ces services, la quantification systématique de la douleur et l'intégration des services de santé. initiatives des Unités de la douleur dans les services d’urgence de l’hôpital.

Source: Société espagnole de la douleur (SED)

LE RETOUR DE LA LUTTE DES CLASSES - VRAIMENT POLITIQUE (Août 2019).