Experts warn that the prevalence of gestational diabetes is increasing markedly, and that this is mainly due to the fact that women become increasingly older pregnant since, in Spain, around 60 percent of the population is overweight or obese, which also affects pregnant women. Being over 30 years old and being obese are the two main risk factors for developing diabetes during pregnancy, a complication that ten percent of pregnant women already suffer.

Gestational diabetes is diagnosed by a test that measures blood sugar levels - the O'Sullivan test - which is done to all women between weeks 24 and 28 of pregnancy, and is due to the fact that hormonal alterations that occur during pregnancy make the mother's organism present some resistance to the insulin and, when this is not compensated, diabetes appears, even if the woman was previously healthy.

Experts warn that the negative consequences of poorly controlled diabetes during pregnancy can affect both the mother and the fetus

The negative consequences of poorly controlled diabetes during pregnancy can affect both the mother and the fetus. The pregnant woman is more prone to various complications, such as urinary tract infections or hypertension, and it is common for the baby to grow more than normal, which is known as fetal macrosomia. This hinders the work of Birth that, in addition, you can overtake, and a premature baby has many more risks of suffering certain diseases or develop deficiencies during development.

Experts warn that it is essential to detect gestational diabetes as soon as possible and follow the patient properly because women who suffer from it are more likely to develop type 2 diabetes later, and their children will also be more likely to be obese or diabetic.

Source: Spanish Society of Internal Medicine (SEMI)

GESTATIONAL DIABETES | How To Check Your Blood Sugar Levels (November 2019).

Les experts avertissent que la prévalence du diabète gestationnel est en nette augmentation, et que cela est principalement dû au fait que les femmes deviennent de plus en plus enceintes, car en Espagne, environ 60% de la population est en surpoids ou obèse, ce qui affecte également les femmes enceintes. Être âgé de plus de 30 ans et être obèse sont les deux principaux facteurs de risque de diabète pendant la grossesse, une complication dont souffrent déjà 10% des femmes enceintes.

Le diabète gestationnel est diagnostiqué par un test qui mesure la glycémie - le test O'Sullivan - qui est appliqué à toutes les femmes entre les semaines 24 et 28 de la grossesse et qui est dû au fait que altérations hormonales qui se produisent pendant la grossesse rendent l'organisme de la mère présente une certaine résistance à la l'insuline et, quand cela n'est pas compensé, le diabète apparaît, même si la femme était auparavant en bonne santé.

Les experts avertissent que les conséquences négatives d'un diabète mal contrôlé pendant la grossesse peuvent affecter à la fois la mère et le fœtus

Les conséquences négatives d’un diabète mal contrôlé pendant la grossesse peuvent affecter à la fois la mère et la fœtus. La femme enceinte est plus sujette à diverses complications, telles que les infections des voies urinaires ou l’hypertension, et il est courant que le bébé grandisse plus que la normale, ce qu’on appelle la macrosomie fœtale. Cela entrave le travail de naissance que, en outre, vous pouvez dépasser, et un bébé prématuré a beaucoup plus de risques de souffrir de certaines maladies ou de développer des carences au cours du développement.

Les experts avertissent qu'il est essentiel de détecter le diabète gestationnel le plus tôt possible et de bien suivre la patiente, car les femmes qui en souffrent risquent davantage de développer un diabète de type 2 plus tard, et leurs enfants seront également plus susceptibles d'être obèses ou diabétiques.

Source: Société espagnole de médecine interne (SEMI)

Les grossesses pathologiques (Août 2019).