Experts estimate that 10% of children suffer amblyopia, a condition popularly known as 'lazy eye'; however, more than half of the parents do not know it, so the affected children do not receive the appropriate treatment, and this disorder influences their school performance.

In addition, a series of activities often performed by children, such as reading, watching television, surfing the Internet or playing videogames, require a significant effort of near vision, which is increasing the number of children with myopia.

Experts of the General Council of Opticians and Optometrists Associations estimate that 5-10% of preschool children and 25% of school children have visual defects such as myopia, strabismus or hyperopia, and warn that not correcting these disorders prevents These children correctly follow the rhythm of the classes, read fluently or study comfortably.

About 30% of cases of school failure are due to visual problems, something that most parents do not know

Thus, according to Juan Carlos Martínez Moral, President of the General Council of Opticians and Optometrists Associations, around 30% of cases of school failure are due to visual problems, something that most parents do not know. And he adds that usually children are not aware of their visual limitations, so they do not complain, and therefore it is essential to take them at least once a year to the optician-optometrist to detect as soon as possible if they have a vision problem.

Signs that indicate that the child does not see well

According to the experts, these are some signs that indicate that the child does not see well or has any problem in the eyes, and that they advise a visit to the specialist as soon as possible:

  • Avoid activities related to near vision (such as reading and writing), or far vision (such as playing sports).
  • He has many difficulties to read (the book is very close, omits words, is guided by the finger ...), or his reading comprehension is inferior to what would correspond to his age.
  • He complains of headache frequently.
  • Your eyes get irritated or rubbed when you perform tasks that require near vision.
  • It stumbles a lot.
  • Wink your eyes or frowns to focus your eyes from far or near.

Source: General Council of Colleges of Opticians-Optometrists

VLOG - I Got Strabismus / Lazy Eye Surgery! 7 Day Vlog (November 2019).

Les experts estiment que 10% des enfants souffrent amblyopie, une condition connue sous le nom de 'Oeil paresseux'; Cependant, plus de la moitié des parents ne le savent pas et les enfants concernés ne reçoivent donc pas le traitement approprié. Ce trouble influence leur performance scolaire.

En outre, une série d'activités souvent exécutées par les enfants, telles que lire, regarder la télévision, surfer sur Internet ou jouer à des jeux vidéo, nécessite un effort important de vision de près, qui augmente le nombre d'enfants atteints de myopie.

Les experts du Conseil général des opticiens et des optométristes estiment que 5 à 10% des enfants d’âge préscolaire et 25% des enfants d’école présentent des défauts de vision tels que la myopie, le strabisme ou l’hypermétropie, et avertissent que la correction de ces troubles empêche Ces enfants suivent correctement le rythme des cours, lisent couramment ou étudient confortablement.

Environ 30% des échecs scolaires sont dus à des problèmes visuels, ce que la plupart des parents ne connaissent pas

Ainsi, selon Juan Carlos Martínez Moral, président du Conseil général des associations d’opticiens et d’optométristes, environ 30% des échecs scolaires sont dus à des problèmes de vision, ce que la plupart des parents ne savent pas. Et il ajoute que les enfants ne sont généralement pas conscients de leurs limitations visuelles et ne se plaignent donc pas. Par conséquent, il est essentiel de les consulter au moins une fois par an chez l'opticien-optométriste afin de détecter au plus vite leurs problèmes de vision.

Signes indiquant que l'enfant ne voit pas bien

Selon les experts, il s’agit de certains signes indiquant que l’enfant ne voit pas bien ou qu’il a un problème aux yeux et qu’ils conseillent une visite au spécialiste le plus tôt possible:

  • Évitez les activités liées à la vision de près (comme lire et écrire) ou à la vision de loin (comme faire du sport).
  • Il a beaucoup de difficultés à lire (le livre est très proche, oublie les mots, est guidé par le doigt ...), ou sa compréhension en lecture est inférieure à ce qui correspond à son âge.
  • Il se plaint souvent de maux de tête.
  • Vos yeux s'irritent ou se frottent lorsque vous effectuez des tâches nécessitant une vision de près.
  • Ça trébuche beaucoup.
  • Cligne de l'oeil ou fronce les sourcils pour se concentrer de loin ou de près.

Source: Conseil général des collèges d’opticiens-optométristes

9 Exercices Efficaces Pour Vérifier la Qualité de ta Vision (Août 2019).