According to estimates by the World Health Organization (WHO) up to 10% of births that occur every year in the world are premature, meaning that babies have spent less than 37 weeks in the womb. Dr. Manuel Sánchez Luna, vice president of the European Union of Neonantology and Perinatal Medicine, explains that in our country the percentage of premature babies reaches between seven and eight percent of the total.

Although below 37 weeks of pregnancy the child is considered premature, specialists agree that those born before week 26, weighing less than 750 grams, are especially serious and difficult to get ahead, since they have less possibilities of living and, even in that case, they usually suffer serious sequelae related to the lack of maturity they present at birth. If the birth occurs in week 23 the baby hardly has any chance of surviving.

Babies born between week 26 and week 28, although they need specific care, have a 90% chance of survival

According to experts, children born when their body is not fully developed, will suffer growth problems and hormonal disorders. In addition, these problems are aggravated depending on what was the cause of prematurity, although in a large percentage (40%) of cases is unknown, sometimes due to conditions of the fetus or mother, such as congenital malformations or infections.

Babies born between week 26 and week 28, although they need to stay in the hospital and receive specific care and special care during the first years of life, have a 90% chance of survival. Among the most common sequelae that these children may present are those associated with the development of the nervous system, including neurological and motor disabilities, respiratory disorders, and developmental disorders, which tend to be slower than in full-term babies. .

Both mortality and sequelae increase as the number of weeks of pregnancy decreases. In our country it is estimated that more than 85% of babies weighing less than 1.5 kg at birth survive and, moreover, half of them do so without sequelae, which is related to the high quality of care of the many centers Specialists available, where professionals specially prepared to meet the needs of these small patients work.

Risk factor's

As we have pointed out, in many cases it is not known why a birth occurs prematurely, but specialists agree that the increase in the age of the mother and her access to the working world, the harmful habits such as tobacco and alcohol , multiple pregnancies, a premature rupture of the placenta, infections or other pathologies of the pregnant woman, and malformations of the fetus, among other factors, can precipitate delivery.

Dr. Manuel Sánchez Luna, vice president of the European Union of Neonatal and Perinatal Medicine, explains that the number of premature births varies greatly from one country to another, and that in Europe the lowest rate is Finland, with 5.5% , while other countries, such as Austria, reach 11.5%.

This specialist points out that efforts should be directed to try to prevent premature births and, when this is not possible, to have centers and personnel specialized in the care of these babies, since their first hours of life are crucial to improve their chances of survival and minimize possible sequelae. In this regard, Sánchez Luna praises the level of quality of care enjoyed by these children in Spain, and highlights the important role of the family of the premature child, who will be responsible for their care at home, and must face this task without fear and having as much information as possible to contribute to a better development of the baby.

"Intraventricular Hemorrhage" by Anne Hansen, MD, MPH for OPENPediatrics (November 2019).

Selon les estimations de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), jusqu'à 10% des naissances qui se produisent chaque année dans le monde sont prématurées, ce qui signifie que les bébés ont passé moins de 37 semaines dans l'utérus. Le Dr. Manuel Sánchez Luna, vice-président de l'Union européenne de néonantologie et de médecine périnatale, explique que dans notre pays, le pourcentage de bébés prématurés atteint entre 7 et 8% du total.

Bien que l'enfant soit considéré comme prématuré en dessous de 37 semaines de grossesse, les spécialistes s'accordent pour dire que les personnes nées avant la 26e semaine et pesant moins de 750 grammes sont particulièrement graves et difficiles à surmonter, comme ils ont moins de possibilités de vivre et, même dans ce cas, ils souffrent généralement de séquelles graves liées au manque de maturité qu’ils présentent à la naissance. Si la naissance a lieu à la 23 e semaine, le bébé n'a pratiquement aucune chance de survivre.

Les bébés nés entre les semaines 26 et 28, bien qu'ils aient besoin de soins spécifiques, ont 90% de chances de survivre

Selon les experts, les enfants nés lorsque leur corps n'est pas complètement développé souffriront de problèmes de croissance et de troubles hormonaux. En outre, ces problèmes sont aggravés en fonction de la cause de la prématurité, bien que dans un pourcentage important (40%) des cas soient inconnus, parfois en raison de conditions du fœtus ou de la mère, telles que des malformations congénitales. ou des infections.

Les bébés nés entre les semaines 26 et 28, bien qu'ils aient besoin de rester à l'hôpital et de recevoir des soins spécifiques et des soins spéciaux au cours des premières années de leur vie, ont 90% de chances de survivre. Parmi les séquelles les plus courantes que ces enfants peuvent présenter figurent celles associées au développement du système nerveux, notamment les handicaps neurologiques et moteurs, les troubles respiratoires et les troubles du développement, qui ont tendance à être plus lents que chez les bébés nés à terme. .

La mortalité et les séquelles augmentent à mesure que le nombre de semaines de grossesse diminue. Dans notre pays, on estime que plus de 85% des bébés pesant moins de 1,5 kg à la naissance survivent et, en outre, la moitié d'entre eux le font sans séquelles, ce qui est lié à la qualité des soins dispensés dans de nombreux centres. Spécialistes disponibles, où travaillent des professionnels spécialement préparés pour répondre aux besoins de ces petits patients.

Facteurs de risque

Comme nous l'avons souligné, dans de nombreux cas, on ne sait pas pourquoi une naissance a lieu prématurément, mais les spécialistes s'accordent pour dire que l'augmentation de l'âge de la mère et son accès au monde du travail, les habitudes néfastes telles que le tabac et l'alcool , les grossesses multiples, une rupture prématurée du placenta, des infections ou d’autres pathologies de la femme enceinte et des malformations du fœtus, entre autres facteurs, peuvent précipiter l’accouchement.

Le Dr Manuel Sánchez Luna, vice-président de l'Union européenne de médecine néonatale et périnatale, explique que le nombre de naissances prématurées varie considérablement d'un pays à l'autre et qu'en Europe, le taux le plus bas est celui de la Finlande, avec 5,5%. , tandis que d’autres pays, comme l’Autriche, atteignent 11,5%.

Ce spécialiste souligne que des efforts doivent être déployés pour prévenir les naissances prématurées et, lorsque cela est impossible, disposer de centres et de personnel spécialisés dans la prise en charge de ces bébés, car leurs premières heures de vie sont essentielles pour améliorer leurs chances de survie. survie et minimiser les séquelles possibles. À cet égard, Sánchez Luna loue le niveau de qualité des soins dont bénéficient ces enfants en Espagne et souligne le rôle important de la famille de l'enfant prématuré, qui sera responsable de ses soins à domicile et doit faire face à cette tâche sans crainte. et avoir autant d'informations que possible pour contribuer à un meilleur développement du bébé.

???? Mon Accouchement !!! ( Bébé 2 / Eden ) ???? (Août 2019).